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Guide for calculating interest on workers’ compensation benefits 
 
This document contains general information. It is not legal advice. Every situation is different and other laws may 
apply. If you have questions, contact an attorney, visit the Department of Labor and Industry website at 
www.dli.mn.gov/WorkComp.asp or call the Workers’ Compensation Hotline at 1-800-342-5354 and press 3. 
 
The law in effect on the date of the injury determines the rate of interest payable. For dates of injury before  
May 28, 1977, the rate of interest on benefits not paid when due is set by case law at 6 percent. See, Bordeaux v. 
Gilbert Motor Company, 20 N.W.2d 393, 14 W.C.D. 45 (1945) and Hop v. NSP, S.C. Summarily Affirmed 1/8/97 
(W.C.C.A. 9/12/96). 
 
For dates of injury on or after May 28, 1977, the rate of interest is set by statute. Minnesota Statutes § 176.221, 
subd. 7, provides in part: 

Any payment of compensation, charges for treatment under section 176.135, rehabilitation expenses under 
section 176.102, subdivision 9 or penalties assessed under this chapter not made when due shall bear interest 
from the due date to the date the payment is made at the rate set by section 549.09, subdivision 1. 

 
The applicable interest rate differs depending on the calendar year during which the debt became due.  
 

Dates effective Interest rate 
May 28, 1977 through Dec. 31, 1983 

 
8 percent 

Rate set by Minnesota Statutes § 176.221 
Jan. 1, 1984 through Dec. 31, 1985 

 
9 percent 

Rate set by Minnesota Statutes § 549.09 

Jan. 1, 1986 through Sept. 30, 1995 8 percent 
Rate set by Minnesota Statutes § 176.221 

Oct. 1, 1995 through Dec. 31, 1995 
 

6 percent 
Rate set by Minnesota Statutes § 549.09 

Jan. 1, 1996 through Dec. 31, 1998 
 

5 percent 

Jan 1, 1999 through Dec. 31, 1999 
 4 percent 

Jan. 1, 2000 through Dec. 31, 2000 
 5 percent 

Jan. 1, 2001 through Dec. 31, 2001 6 percent 

Jan. 1, 2002 through Dec. 31, 2002 2 percent 

Jan. 1, 2003 through Dec. 31, 2006 4 percent 

Jan. 1, 2007 through Dec. 31, 2007 5 percent 

Jan. 1, 2008 through Dec. 31, 2015 4 percent* 

This information can be provided to you in alternative formats (Braille, large print or audio). 
An Equal Opportunity Employer 

 



The interest rate payable by a liable party to reimburse a payor or disputed benefits under Minnesota Statutes  
§ 176.191 and § 176.66 is 12 percent. 
 
The interest rate might fluctuate for an award that spans more than one year. Minnesota Statutes § 549.09,  
subd. 2, provides in part: 

During each calendar year, interest shall accrue on the unpaid balance of the judgment or award from the 
time it is entered or made until it is paid, at the annual rate provided in subdivision 1. 

 
*Effective Aug. 1, 2009, for a judgment or award greater than $50,000, other than a judgment or award for or 
against the state or a political subdivision, the interest rate shall be 10 percent a year until paid. See Minnesota 
Statutes § 549.09. 
 
Tips and instructions for calculating interest 
Use this formula to calculate the amount of interest due: 
 

$ 𝑥𝑥 %
52

× N = Interest due 

 
$ = The amount of weekly compensation, charges for medical treatment, rehabilitation expenses or 
penalties due. 
 
% = The applicable interest rate. 
 
N = The number of weeks for which interest is due. 
 
The Minnesota Workers’ Compensation Reinsurance Association has developed an interest calculator. It 
is provided at www.wcra.biz/calculators/InterestCalc.aspx. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This document can be given to you in Braille, large print or audio. 
 
March 2015 

2 


