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Recent Legislative and Rulemaking
Actions

|. DRGs for hospital inpatient charges
II. Direct deposit by EFT
lll. Electronic transactions

V. DLI Workers’ Compensation
Division modernization

V. Opioid rule




l. Inpatient DRG — Problems

Cost hikes. From 2006-2012 Minnesota
hospital inpatient surgical costs
increased 9.5% annually, which was
faster than national average of 7.4%.
During same period, MN non-hospital
costs went up 4.5% annually, which was
less than the national average of 5.5%




Inpatient DRG — Problems

Disputes. Between 1997-201 3 total
number of medical only claims declined

50%. But number of medical disputes
increased and dispute rates rose by
71%. Other types of disputes (claim
petitions, discontinuances, rehab, etc.)
declined during same period.




Inpatient DRG — Problems

» Hospitals asserted that bill reviewers
retained by payers made dispute
resolution needlessly complex and
lengthy.

» Also, claimed payments took much
longer, sometimes as much as several
years after original billing. (Insurers
disagreed.)




Inpatient DRG — Background

» Diagnostic Related Group. Payments to
hospitals are predetermined, based on
patient’s diagnosis instead of treatment
charges.

» DRG system first used by Medicare in
1985. DRGs based on severity of
gli(%:];losis (MS-DRGs) were adopted in

» More than 750 MS-DRG codes.

» Other DRG systems exist, but Minnesota
workers' compensation will use MS-DRG.




Inpatient DRG — Process

» Detailed negotiations over 10 months
between Minnesota Hospital Association and
Minnesota Insurance Federation, mediated by
DLI, assisted by Optum Consulting. Data
collected by parties and DLI.

» Compromise agreement reached in late
March.




Inpatient DRG — Process

» Workers' Compensation Advisory Council
business and labor representatives and
legislators also played key roles. Approved
compromise April 8, 2015.

» Legislature passed and Governor signed
compromise bill in May 2015 regular session.




Inpatient DRG — Basics
(Minnesota Statutes 176.135-1362)

» Payments for inpatient services and supplies will
e based on MS-DRG system for workers' comp
natients discharged on or after Jan. 1, 2016.

» Maximum payment will be 200% of amount
paid by Medicare for applicable DRG using
the Medicare “PC Pricer” program. Replaces
current standard of 85% of hospital’s “usual
and customary” charge.

» Hospitals must bill same way they bill for
Medicare. Billing must be within six months
of either date of care or date provider learns

insurer’s identity.




Inpatient DRG — Catastrophic

High-cost Injuries

» Catastrophic high-cost injuries. If charges
exceed $175,000, payment will be 75% of
hospital’s usual and customary charge,

instead of by DRG. These cases are 2.6% of all
billings, but 18% of costs.

» Dollar amount for catastrophic injuries will be
adjusted yearly by percentage change in
average total charges per inpatient cases,
based on hospital data reported to Health
Department.




Inpatient DRG — Smaller
Hospitals

Critical access hospitals (CAHs). Hospitals
certified by Medicare as CAHs will be paid at
100% of usual and customary charges instead
of by DRG. CAHs must have 25 or fewer
inpatient beds, provide emergency care and
meet other Medicare requirements.

Minnesota has 79 such hospitals. They treat
lesser work injuries, some may have only one
to two workers' compensation cases annually.




Outliers

» To protect hospitals from large losses,
additional payments are made for unusually
costly cases called outliers. (The outlier
payment does not apply when charges exceed

the $175,000 workers’ compensation
threshold.)

» Qutliers are identified by comparing their
charges to a fixed-/oss amount, a nationwide
number, set annually by Medicare.

» The cost to charge ratio is annually set by
Medicare for each hospital based on cost
reports.




Outliers

» The outlier payment is calculated using the
hospital’s reported charges, the hospital’s
owh cost to charge ratio, the appropriate MS-
DRG payment and the fixed loss amount.

» Hospitals are paid 80% of calculated costs for
most outliers, but 90% for burn cases.

» See addendum for an example of calculating
outlier payment.




Inpatient DRG — Payments

When DRG applies and hospital submits
electronic bill:

» Insurers may not require additional
documentation.

» Line item bill adjustments not allowed, except
when post-payment audit is permitted.

» Payer must, within 30 days, deny entire bill or
pay bill in full (200% of Medicare payment
amount).




Inpatient DRG — Post-payment

audits

» Audits only permitted when bill is paid within
30 days and payment included “outlier”
amount (which is payment over DRG amount

allowed for more expensive cases).
» Audits must be initiated within six months of

payment.

» Following audit, 4% interest must be paid by
insurer if it owes more or 4% by hospital if it

was overpaid.




Inpatient DRG — Study

» DLI must perform study analyzing impact of
reforms. Due by Jan. 15, 2018.




Inpatient DRG — Rulemaking

» DLI allowed expedited rulemaking to
implement DRG. Expect to use only if there is
an unanticipated Medicare change or issues
not addressed by new law.




Rulemaking for Outpatient
Charges

» DLI also allowed rulemaking to adopt
orospective payment (DRG-type) system for
nayment of treatment by hospital outpatient
or ambulatory surgical centers.

» Will not be needed if parties agree to
legislation to be enacted during 2016
legislative session.




Il. Direct Deposit by EFT for
Injured Workers vinn. stat. 176.221)

» When requested by injured worker, insurer or
employers must deposit indemnity payments
with bank, credit union or savings association
by electronic funds transfer.

» Insurers must do so within 30 days of
receiving employee’s request if EFT
arrangement exists with the bank.

» Insurer must make effort to establish EFT
within two weeks of request if it doesn’t
already have an arrangement with the bank.

(Jan. 1, 2016).




lll. Electronic Health Care Billings
(Minn. Stat.176.135 subd. 7a)

» Proposed in response to joint DLI/MDH
industry-wide symposium in November 2014.

» Payers must place on website or otherwise
provide specific information that providers
need to submit an e-bill, including:

- payer ID number;

> reporting claim numbers on the e-bill;
- clearinghouse name; and

- contact information.

(Jan. 1, 2016)




Electronic Health Care Billings
(Minn. Stat.176.135 subd. 7a)

» Payers must provide specific information so
providers can match the payment to bill

(Sept. 1, 2015).
» Providers must submit attachments with the

e-bill electronically, using a specific national

standard (July 1, 2016).

> DLI will provide online training and
materials to assist payers and providers
implement the new attachment standard.




2015 Workers’ Compensation
Legislation

» This is only an overview of the 2015 workers’
compensation statutory amendments. The
complete law is available online at
www.revisor.mn.gov/laws /?year=2015&type
=0&doctype=Chapter&id=43.

» It will be codified in Minn. Stat. chapter 176
at www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=176.



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2015&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=43
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2015&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=43
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=176
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=176
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=176

V. Workers' Compensation
Division Modernization

» DLI’s Workers' Comp Division’s IT system is
more than 20 years old and needs updating.

» Just completed initial scoping phase. Hope to
have RFP ready by January.

» $4M was appropriated for FY16; $6M for
FY17; and $3M each for FY18 and FY109.

» Will be added to assessment over next few
years. Will not result in an increase in
assessments for insurers and self-insurers,
but they will not decrease as much.

(Ch. 1, art 1, sec 5, subd 2, 2015 Special Sess.)




V. Opioid Rules (Minnesota Rules part

5221.6110%)

» Opioid use for injured workers has greatly
grown over the past 15 years. A 2014 study
by WCRI showed 66% of nonsurgical work
comp claimants with more than 7 days lost
work time, who were given prescriptions for
their injuries, received opioids. Six % of those
were considered long-term users.

» After several years of consultation with the
MSRB, input from affected parties and then
proper procedural steps, DLI opioid rules
became effective July 13, 2015.

“This is an overview only; the actual rules are available online at



http://www.dli.mn.gov/PDF/docket/5221_6020_8900TrtmPar_2.pdf

Opioid Rules

» Apply only to oral or skin patch (not injected
opioids) when prescribed to be taken daily for
at least 90 days.

» Require pain, function, risk assessments
before starting.

» Selection criteria include: 1) all other
reasonable medical treatment options have
been exhausted; 2)patient can’t maintain
function without long-term use of opioids;
3) patient does not have a current substance
use disorder; and 4) patient not using illegal
substances.




Opioid Rules

Require:
» Written treatment contracts between the
patient and health care provider.

» Ongoing monitoring — increases with dosage
or if patient is at high risk for dependency or
abuse.

» Referrals to specialists (required if patient is
at high risk for dependence or abuse).

» Documentation in the medical record.




Opioid Rules

Insurer can deny payment for opioid treatment
if first:
» Sends a copy of rules to patient and provider.

» Gives provider 30 days to initiate plan for
compliance.




Opioid Rules

If patient has been on daily opioids for at least
90 days when rules became effective, provider
must, within three months of insurer’s notice:

» Assess patient’s current pain and function.

» Develop treatment plan consistent with rules.
» Complete written contract with patient.

» Initiate monitoring.




Questions?

p—



Addendum

Example of calculating outlier payment for a costly nonburn hospital

case”
Basic facts needed
Hospital’s charges $150,000
Usual MS-DRG payment $ 21,000
Hospital’s cost to charge ratio** 40
Fixed loss threshold*** $ 24,758

To qualify for an outlier payment, the hospitals charges must exceed
the usual MS-DRG payment by more than the fixed loss threshold.

Step One. Add MS-DRG payment to fixed loss threshold ($21,000
+$24,758). Result is $45,758.

Step Two. Multiply hospital’s charges by cost to charge ratio
($150,000 x .40). Result is $60,000.




Addendum

Step Three. Step Two result minus Step One result ($60,000 -
$45,758). Result is $14,242.

Step Four. Eighty percent of Step Three result ($14,242 x .80). Result
is $11,393.

Step Five. MS-DRG + Step Four result ($21,000 + $11,393). Total
payment to hospital will be $32,393.

Note: If this had been a burn case, Step Four would have been
calculated $14,242 x .90 and the result would be $12,817. The total
payment from Step Five would have been $33,817.




Addendum

» *This is a simplified example. More detailed information about
calculating an outlier payment is online at
www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee—for-Service-
Payment/AcutelnpatientPPS/outlier.html.

» **Determined by Medicare for each individual hospital based on cost
reports. Sometimes a statewide cost of charge ratio is used if
Medicare is unable to determine individual one.

» ***Annually determined by Medicare. The same number applies to
every U.S. hospital receiving Medicare payments.



http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Payment/AcuteInpatientPPS/outlier.html
http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Payment/AcuteInpatientPPS/outlier.html
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