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OVERVIEW OF THE WORKERS' COMPENSATION DIVISION

The Workers” Compensation Division of the Office Administrative Hearings (OAH)
was established in 1981. This division serves the citizens of the state of Minnesota, with
its main office located in St. Paul. The judges of the division conduct settlement, pretrial
and trial level functions associated with disputed claims for workers’ compensation
benefits.

The division is funded from the Special Compensation Fund through a biennial
appropriation of $14.5 million, with no monies being appropriated from the General Fund.

OAH conducts hearings in locations across Minnesota - including Duluth, Walker,
Alexandria, Mankato, Rochester and Brainerd. OAH also conducts hearings via video
conferencing technology, which allows parties to avoid travel, if so desired.

Policies and procedures of OAH are regularly communicated to members of the
bar and other interested persons through a listserv. Directions on how to receive such
communications can be found under the Attorney Resources section of our website.

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION STATUTES AND RULES

The following statutes and rules are commonly used and referred to throughout
the duration of a workers’ compensation proceeding:

e Minnesota Statute Chapter 176
e Minnesota Rule 1415

¢ Minnesota Rule 1420

The Department of Labor and Industry also hears and decides certain disputes
involving workers’ compensation matters. Appeals from a decision by a judge at OAH are

heard and decided by the Workers’ Compensation Court of Appeals.
DISPUTES AND PLEADINGS

a. Disputes over wage loss benefits, or general disputes over liability of a claim:
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Employee’s Claim Petition: If the compensability of the work-related injury is
disputed, or if wage loss benefits have not paid, it may be necessary to file a Claim
Petition to initiate litigation.

Claim Petition for Dependency Benefits or Payment to Estate: If a work-related
injury results in death of the employee, it may be necessary to file a Claim Petition for
Dependency Benefits or Payment to the Estate to initiate litigation.

Answer by Employer/Insurer: The employer and insurer’s Answer to the Claim
Petition is due within 20 days. Failure to file an Answer may result in an expedited hearing.

Employee’s Objection to Discontinuance: If an administrative conference has been
held pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 176.239, and if the employee objects to the decision of a
Compensation Judge, an Objection to Discontinuance may be filed. An Objection to
Discontinuance may also be filed if the time to request a conference under Minn. Stat. §
176.239 has expired, but it has been less than 60 days since filing of the NOID.

Employer/Insurer’s Petition for Discontinuance: If an administrative conference
has been held pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 176.239, and if the employer/insurer object to
the decision of a Compensation Judge, a Petition for Discontinuance may by filed. A
Petition for Discontinuance may also be filed in lieu of a NOID.

b. Disputes over payment of medical bills, or approval of medical treatment:

Medical Request: If the employer and insurer has accepted liability for the work-
related injury, and a dispute arises over payment of medical bills or approval of medical
treatment, it may be necessary to file a Medical Request to initiate litigation. If the parties
have attended an administrative conference and received an unfavorable decision, the
aggrieved party may file a Request for Formal Hearing to initiate additional litigation. If
the employer and insurer have not accepted liability for the work-related injury, then it is
necessary to file a Claim Petition to initiate litigation.

c. Disputes over vocational rehabilitation services:

Rehabilitation Request: If the employer and insurer has accepted liability for the
work-related injury, and a dispute arises over vocational rehabilitation services (QRC
services), it may be necessary to file a Rehabilitation Request to initiate litigation. If the
parties have attended an administrative conference and received an unfavorable decision,
the aggrieved party may file a Request for Formal Hearing to initiate additional litigation.
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If the employer and insurer have not accepted liability for the work-related injury, then it
is necessary to file a Claim Petition to initiate litigation.

LITIGATION EVENTS

Administrative conferences under Minn. Stat. Sec. 176.239:

If the insurer discontinues the employee’s wage replacement loss benefits, the
employee should receive a form called a Notice of Intention to Discontinue Benefits
(NOID). The employee may request a conference by calling OAH at 651.361.7901 within
the time deadline given on the form (usually within 12 days after the NOID is received
by the state).

A notice of an administrative conference is usually served on the parties within
three-business days. The conference is typically held within 30 days of the request for
the conference.

Conferences on wage loss disputes and other vocational/medical disputes are held
by judges at OAH. These conferences are held on an informal basis without sworn
testimony.

Settlement conferences:

Typically, each case is scheduled for a settlement conference. The purpose of a
settlement conference is to discuss resolution of the dispute. At least seven days prior
to the conference, a settlement proposal must be submitted to the opposing party. In
addition, parties are required to file a pretrial statement at least five business days prior
to the settlement conference. Further instructions about pretrial statements can be found
on our website. At the conference, the parties should be prepared to enter into settlement
discussions, and/or have the necessary person(s) with settlement authority available by
phone. A judge will be present at the conference to facilitate the discussion, but will not
make any decisions. If the matter is resolved, a stipulation for settlement (settlement
agreement) will be drawn up for signatures and submitted to a judge for approval. A
stipulation status conference will be scheduled after the case is reported settled to ensure
that the stipulation is filed with the court in a timely manner. If the matter does not settle
at the settlement conference, a hearing will be scheduled if one has not already been set.
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Mediation:

OAH- also offers mediation services at no charge to the parties. Please see the
Mediation section of the website for further details and instructions on how to schedule
mediation with a judge.

Hearings are scheduled at the Stassen Building in downtown St. Paul and
throughout the state. Once a hearing date is set, all parties are notified in writing of the
date, time and place of the hearing.

If an interpreter is required for the hearing, a party must make that request at
least thirty days prior to the hearing. If an interpreter is requested, one will be provided
at no cost.

Hearings are held before a Workers’ Compensation Judge. The judge may request
an opening statement by each party. Witnesses are sworn in before testifying. The parties
have a right to present their own withesses and cross-examine witnesses presented by
other parties. Parties also may submit documents and reports that they wish for the judge
to consider as part of their case. Each party may present a final statement on the claim
and defenses. All hearings are recorded digitally or by court reporter. After the hearing
the judge will issue a Findings and Order. This is the decision of the case.

Any party has the right to appeal the order of the judge. If a party wishes to
appeal, a notice of appeal must be filed within 30 days of receipt of the order. The
Workers” Compensation Court of Appeals (WCCA) will review the hearing record. The
WCCA can affirm, reverse, remand or modify the judge's order. All parties will receive a
copy of the WCCA decision. Any party may also appeal the WCCA decision to the
Minnesota Supreme Court.

Stipulation status conferences (SSC):

An SSC is a conference scheduled by OAH to determine the outcome of pending
dispute. The purpose of the SSC is to update OAH and the other parties concerning the
status of the stipulation, and to make plans to achieve final resolution of the claim.

After the parties have communicated to OAH that settlement has been reached,
an SSC will be scheduled approximately 45 days from the date the case is reported
settled. Cases are often scheduled with 50 to 100 other cases during the same time. If
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the stipulation for settlement is filed with OAH prior to the SSC, then the SSC will be
canceled. Generally, continuances of SSCs are not permitted.

Parties should come to the SSC prepared to state a reason(s) final resolution of
the case has been delayed, and to propose strategies on a timeline for achieving final
resolution.

Questions regarding SSCs should be directed to 651-361-7950 or
oah.wcstipstatus@state.mn.us.

INTERVENOR RESOURCES

If you have provided services to or on behalf of an injured employee, then a party
to the litigation must serve you with a Notice of Right to Intervene. If you have a financial
interest in an employee’s workers’ compensation claim, you may want to file a Motion to
Intervene. Your motion should be filed no later then 60 days from the date you were
provided notice. Claims of intervenors are governed by Minn. Stat. § 176.361, various
rules found in Minnesota Rules Chapters 1415 and 1420, and relevant case law.

The following forms may be utilized when filing a Motion to Intervene.

e Intervention Cover Letter

e Intervention Motion

e Intervention Stipulation

o Intervention Service Affidavit

You are required to provide documentation of your claim. This includes an
itemization of disability or other benefits paid or owing, itemized bills, and treatment
notes. Prior to the scheduled hearing date, you should provide OAH and all parties with
your updated claim, if necessary.

If you are given notice of the right to intervene and you fail to file a Motion within
the time deadline, there may be an order issued that absolves the workers’ compensation
insurer from paying your claim and may prevent you from collecting from the employee
or any government program.
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After you file a Motion to Intervene, the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH)
or the Department of Labor and Industry gives notice to you of proceedings in the
case. This keeps you updated on the case status, and informed of administrative
conferences, settlement conferences, pretrial conferences, and hearings. The Workers'
Compensation Act requires your attendance at these proceedings. Unless you have
permission from the judge, your attendance is expected. Failure to appear may result in
denial of your claim and an inability to collect the sum claimed from the parties or a
government program. Attendance by telephone is allowed for all settlement conferences
(Standing Order Granting Intervenor’s at Settlement Conference by Telephone).

The Workers’ Compensation Act specifically allows intervenors to represent
themselves in a workers’ compensation proceeding without hiring an attorney. Attorneys
in this area of practice may be helpful to you because they are familiar with the process
and the nature of proof needed to establish or settle intervention claims. OAH sees both

attorneys and non-attorneys representing intervenors. The decision of whether to hire an -

attorney to assist you is up to you.

OAH maintains a master service list for intervenors. This list is often referred to
by the litigants in order to obtain the correct contact information for an intervenor. If
you wish to be added to this list, please complete the Workers’ Compensation
Intervenor Contact Information form.

The Department of Labor and Industry is a valuable resource for questions you
may have. They can be found on the web at (insert link to DOLI) or reached by telephone
at 651-284-5030. You may also call OAH at 651.361.7900 and ask to speak with a staff
attorney.
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OVERVIEW OF THE WORKERS' COMPENSATION COURT OF
APPEALS

The Minnesota Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals (WCCA) was created as an
independent agency of the executive branch of state government by Chapter 175A of
the Minnesota Statutes. The court consists of five judges appointed to six-year terms by
the Governor and confirmed by the state Senate. The Governor designates one of the
five as the Chief Judge. The Chief Judge is responsible for the administration of the
court.

The WCCA has exclusive, statewide authority to review workers' compensation cases
decided by compensation judges at the Office of Administrative Hearings and certain
cases decided by the Workers' Compensation Division at the Department of Labor and
Industry. A panel of three or five judges decides each appeal. A written decision must
be issued within 90 days after a case has been assigned to a panel. The judges review
the evidentiary record created at the initial hearing, preside over oral arguments,
conduct legal research, decide the legal and factual issues appealed by the parties, and
issue written orders, decisions and memoranda. Decisions are written to inform the
parties and the public of the bases for the court's decisions and to create a body of law
interpreting and applying Minnesota workers' compensation laws. Decisions of the
WCCA are appealable directly to the Minnesota Supreme Court.

The mission of the WCCA is to produce high quality and consistent decisions in a timely
manner to ensure the quick and efficient delivery of workers' compensation benefits to
qualified injured workers at a reasonable cost to employers.

Cases at the Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals (WCCA)

a. Filing the Appeal

An appeal to the WCCA begins with the filing of a notice of appeal with
OAH. The notice must be filed within 30 days of the OAH decision and must specify the
findings that are being appealed. Minn. Stat. § 176.421. A cross appeal may be filed in
- the 30-day period after the OAH decision but no later than 15 days after service of the
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notice of appeal. After receiving the notice of appeal, OAH orders a transcript of the
hearing. Once the transcript is received, the file is sent to the WCCA.

b. Procedure at the WCCA

The receipt of the transcript and file at the WCCA begins the briefing
schedule for the parties — 30 days for the appellant, 25 days after that for the
respondent, 10 days for a reply brief. Minn. R. 9800.0900. The court also sends a letter
to the parties advising that the file has been received and asking if the parties want oral
argument and want the case assigned to a three judge panel or the full court. The file
is also assigned to one of our compensation attorneys to monitor for receipt of briefs.
The attorney prepares a memo identifying the issues and arguments raised by the
parties. The judges review the memo and the file and vote on whether oral argument
should be granted and assigned to a 3-judge panel or the full court.

The judge assigned to be the writer is responsible for preparing a rough draft of
the decision and for circulating that rough draft to the other members of the panel for
corrections, comments, and eventual approval. In practice, the judges on the panel
usually discuss the decision with each other throughout the process and consider
whether one of the judges has an issue with the draft. A judge who is not the writer
may decide to write a concurrence or a dissent.

c. Petitions to Vacate

The WCCA has the authority to vacate or set aside an award for “cause.”
Cause is defined in the statute and is limited to one of the listed definitions. Minn. Stat.
§ 176.461. A petition to vacate the award, almost always an award approving a
settlement and almost always filed by the employee, is filed with the court along with
all supporting records and affidavits. Any responsive pleading with briefs must be filed
within 45 days. The rule also provides that oral argument on a petition to vacate will be
provided if requested by any party. Assignment of the petition to a judge for a decision
and the preparation of the decision are handled in the same manner as an appeal.

d. What to Expect — timeline

The following is a rather typical timeline for a case working its way
through the workers compensation appeal system:

9/25/14 - hearing before the compensation judge
10/30/14 — compensation judge findings and order
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12/1/14 - notice of appeal filed at OAH
1/8/15 — transcript and file arrives at WCCA

1/9/15 - letter sent to attorneys regarding briefs and requests for oral
argument

2/5/15 — appellants’ brief filed

2/27/15 - respondent’s brief filed

3/9/15 — appeliants’ reply brief filed

3/16/15 — staff attorney’s memo given to judges
3/17/15 - letter sent to parties advising of oral argument
5/11/15 - oral argument

8/9/15 ~ decision from WCCA due

e. Issues before the WCCA

(1). Hengemuhle — If the issue on appeal involves a factual determination
by the compensation judge, The standard of review for the WCCA is to determine if
substantial evidence supports the compensation judge’s determination. If so, the
determination is to be affirmed.

(2). If on appeal there is no significant dispute as to facts, the WCCA
reviews to see if the conclusion drawn by the compensation judge from those facts are
consistent with the statute and with case law.

f. Appeals to the Minnesota Supreme Court

Decisions of the WCCA are appealable to the Minnesota Supreme Court. The
Supreme Court decides whether to grant oral argument or decide the case on a non-
oral basis. The Supreme Court may write a full decision either affirming or reversing the
WCCA or it may summarily affirm the WCCA decision.
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