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Roofing contractor regulations and homeowner protections 
 
Minnesota Statutes 325E.66 prohibits contractors from advertising or offering to pay or rebate all 
or part of a homeowner’s insurance deductible. 
 
 Violation of that statute provides cause for a homeowner or insurer to bring an action 

against contractor for damages. 
 Violation also allows insurer not to consider that contractor’s estimate. 

 
Minnesota Statutes 326B.811 allows a homeowner to cancel a roofing contract if their insurance 
company denies their claim. 
 
 Cancellation must be submitted to the contractor in writing within 72 hours of notice of 

claim denial from the insurer. 
 The contractor must provide written cancellation notice information to the homeowner 

prior to entering into contract. 
 If the homeowner cancels the contract, the contractor must refund any money paid within 

10 days. 
 Contractors may receive compensation for any emergency services provided prior to 

cancellation. 
 
 
For more information, contact DLI at (651) 284-5069 or DLI.Contractor@state.mn.us  
 
View additional consumer protection tips at www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/RBCConsumer.asp  


