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Limited seats remain for CCLD’s Spring Seminar
Seats are filling up fast for the 
Construction Codes and Licensing 
Division’s 2013 Spring Seminar 
“Residential Plumbing Plan Review 
and Site Inspections.” 

Beginning in April, this seminar will 
be offered at nine locations throughout 
Minnesota and will cover residential 
plumbing and plan review procedures 
from the start of the project to 
completion. 

Course description
The morning portion of the seminar 
will cover plumbing plan review and 
include discussion about room size, 
fixture clearance, sewer service and 
water service. Site inspection rough 
plumbing will also be covered and will 
include discussion about underground 

piping, above ground DWV piping and 
water piping. 

The afternoon portion of the seminar 
will begin with a discussion of the 
residential energy code as it applies to 
residential plumbing. The remainder 
of the day will include discussion of 
setting fixtures, installing appliances 
and final testing. The seminar will 
conclude with a question-and-answer 
session. 

Continuing education
The course has been approved by DLI 

for seven hours continuing education 
for: 

•	 plumbers
•	 water conditioning contractors
•	 building officials
•	 residential building contractors 

(including energy) and 
•	 manufactured-home installers. 

Cost
The cost of the seminar is $85 per 
person and must be paid by credit 
card. No refunds will be issued. Space 
is limited at each location.

For more information including dates, locations and  
to register visit www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/education.asp

Continuing education

2013 Minnesota Building Code adoption taking shape
DLI continues its process to adopt amended editions 
of the 2012 International Code Council’s model codes 
and standards. These codes, when adopted, will form 
the 2013 Minnesota Building Code. 

The Minnesota Building Code consists of 25 sets of 
rules. The current group, about half of the total, is 
made up of the major codes and standards that need to 
be coordinated and adopted at the same time to avoid 
conflicts. These include: 

Recommendations and review 
CCLD has received the recommendations of the 
technical advisory committees and is refining the 
statements of need and reasonableness (SONARs), the 
rule language and format. This phase includes internal 
legal reviews, initial review by the Revisor’s Office and 
the Governor’s Office. 

The next step is to issue the Notice of Intent to Adopt 
Rules with a 30-day comment period, which begins 
the formal Administrative Procedures Act process that 
must be followed to adopt rules. 

The tentative code adoption planning schedule will be 
updated at  
www.dli.mn.gov/RulemakingCCL.asp.

•	 commercial building
•	 residential building 
•	 fire
•	 mechanical and fuel gas
•	 commercial energy
•	 residential energy

•	 radon
•	 existing building
•	 elevator
•	 accessibility
•	 administrative 

provisions

https://secure.doli.state.mn.us/events/events.aspx
https://secure.doli.state.mn.us/events/events.aspx
https://secure.doli.state.mn.us/events/events.aspx
https://secure.doli.state.mn.us/events/events.aspx
www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/education.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/RulemakingCCL.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/RulemakingCCL.asp
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CCLD Review is a quarterly 
publication of the Minnesota 
Department of Labor and 
Industry.   
Receive email notification 
when an issue is available by 
subscribing online. 

CCLD main contact info
Phone: 	 (651) 284-5012 	
Toll-free:	1-800-657-3944
Fax:  		  (651) 284-5749 	
TTY:  		  (651) 297-4198

Visit the Contact Us page 

Licensing information
DLI.License@state.mn.us
Business/Contractor Licenses 
and Bonds: 	  (651) 284-5034
(Including:  Electrical, HPP, Plumbing, 
Residential, Manufactured Structures, 
Mechanical Bonds, Technology 
System, Water Conditioning)

Personal Licenses and 
Certificates:   (651) 284-5031
(Including:  Boiler Engineers, 
Electricians, Plumbers, Power Limited 
Technicians, Pipefitters, Unlicensed 
Individuals, Building Officials)

Electrical information
Phone:  	(651) 284-5026		
Fax: 			  (651) 284-5749
DLI.Electricity@state.mn.us   

Boiler, High-Pressure Piping, 
Boats-for-Hire inspection
Phone: 	 (651) 284-5544	
Fax:  		  (651) 284-5737
DLI.Code@state.mn.us

Plumbing information
Phone:		 (651) 284-5063 			 
Fax: 			  (651) 284-5748
DLI.Plumbing@state.mn.us     

License enforcement details
Phone:  	(651) 284-5069			 
Fax:  		  (651) 284-5746
DLI.Contractor@state.mn.us

Contractor registration  
program
Phone:  	(651) 284-5074			 
DLI.register@state.mn.us

Contact information

A Minnesota ‘green’ building code
Code adoption

Work has been underway since November 2012 exploring interest in adoption 
of a “green” construction code for Minnesota. 

An informational meeting was conducted Nov. 28, 2012, at DLI where 
representatives from the construction industry, municipal government and 
owners met together to discuss the benefits and concerns about how a green 
code might be administered. Discussion included:

Research has focused on the 2012 
International Green Construction Code, the 
first edition of the IGCC published by the 
International Code Council.

Staff members of DLI’s Construction Codes 
and Licensing Division are reviewing the 
IGCC to identify land-use (zoning) type 
provisions over which the Minnesota State 
Building Code does not have authority; to 
what extent the energy-conserving measures 
equate to what may be proposed in the 
2012 Minnesota Energy Code, and what 
is new green building code language. This 
evaluation process should be complete by May, 2013. DLI will then assemble 
a stakeholder work group to review the division’s efforts and recommend how 
to proceed with development of a Minnesota Green Code.

•	 cost
•	 return on investment
•	 understandable requirements
•	 clear lines of authority and 

jurisdiction
•	 standardization
•	 education
•	 limited scope

Permits

Minimum $5 ‘fixed fee’ permit  
surcharge will continue into 2015
Just a reminder that the $5 
minimum surcharge on “fixed fee” 
permits continues until June 30, 
2015. 

Without future law changes, the 
minimum surcharge on those 
permits will reduce to $1 after that 

date.

For more information, including 
the Minnesota Building Permit 
Surcharge Report Manual that 
includes the text of the revised 
law, visit www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/
surcharge.asp.

http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Review.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/ccldcontactus.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/ccldcontactus.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Forms.asp
mailto:DLI.License@state.mn.us
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Electrical.asp
mailto:DLI.Electricity@state.mn.us
http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld.asp
mailto:DLI.Code@state.mn.us
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Plumbing.asp
mailto:DLI.Plumbing@state.mn.us
http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/Enforcement.asp
mailto:DLI.Contractor@state.mn.us
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/register.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/register.asp
mailto:DLI.register@state.mn.us
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/ccldcontactus.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/surcharge.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/surcharge.asp
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Individuals testing, maintaining, 
repairing or rebuilding reduced pressure 
zone backflow (RPZ) prevention 
assemblies must be certified in addition 
to being licensed or registered by DLI. 

To qualify for certification, individuals 
must have completed a department 
approved course prior to Feb. 25, 
2013. Or, beginning Feb. 25, 2013, 
must have completed courses approved 
by the American Society of Sanitary 
Engineering (ASSE). Information 
regarding ASSE approved courses is at 

www.asse-plumbing.org.  

Individuals who maintain, repair or 
rebuild RPZ assemblies must hold a 
RPZ rebuilding certificate issued by 
DLI and be licensed as a journeyman 
or master plumber. Individuals who 
test RPZ assemblies must hold a 
RPZ rebuilding or testing certificate 
issued by DLI but are not required 
to be licensed or registered with the 
department. 

Minnesota Statutes Section 326B.437 

provides requirements for RPZ testers 
and rebuilders and can be accessed 
at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/
statutes/?id=326B.437. 

RPZ tester and rebuilder certification 
rules adopted by the Plumbing Board 
effective Feb. 25, 2013, can be accessed 
at www.dli.mn.gov/PDF/docket/4716_
RPZ_AR4082.pdf. 

Questions? Send an email message to 
DLI.license@state.mn.us or call (651) 
284-5031. 

RPZ testing and rebuilding cert., licensing requirements
Reduced pressure backflow prevention

Locate inspectors quickly

Find code  
requirements 
in one place

DLI has built a one-stop “Local Code Lookup” – online at  
http://workplace.doli.state.mn.us/jurisdiction – to help contractors and homeowners 
find local code requirements and code inspectors in one place. 

The online search tool 
helps users find which 
code authority has local 
jurisdiction for permits, plan 
review and inspection in the 
areas of boilers, building 
codes, electrical, elevators, 
high-pressure piping, 
plumbing or other Minnesota 
construction codes and 
licensing disciplines. 

DLI’s Local Code 
Lookup helps 
homeowners and 
contractors find local 
code requirements 
and inspectors in one 
place.

Fall protection

News from Minn. OSHA Workplace Safety Consultation

Now that fall protection standards have been applied to residential construction projects in Minnesota, contractors are 
required to determine methods to ensure appropriate fall-protection is maintained during all phases of a project.

To assist contractors, federal OSHA has posted fact sheets online that highlight various methods to reduce falls during 
residential construction projects. The fact sheets offer both general information and task-specific information. 

Fact sheet shares fall-protection methods for residential construction applications

View the fact sheets at www.osha.gov/pls/publications/publication.athruz?pType=Industry&pID=402.  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=326B.437
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=326B.437
http://www.dli.mn.gov/PDF/docket/4716_RPZ_AR4082.pdf
http://www.dli.mn.gov/PDF/docket/4716_RPZ_AR4082.pdf
http://workplace.doli.state.mn.us/jurisdiction
http://workplace.doli.state.mn.us/jurisdiction
http://workplace.doli.state.mn.us/jurisdiction
http://workplace.doli.state.mn.us/jurisdiction
http://www.dli.mn.gov/OSHA/PDF/72_0711sl.pdf
http://www.osha.gov/pls/publications/publication.athruz?pType=Industry&pID=402
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Licensed plumbers

Plumbers: New continuing education requirements

The State Board of Plumbing has adopted rules requiring 
that all licensed plumbers take 16 hours of approved 
continuing education (CE) in each two-year license period 
to be eligible to renew a license. 

All master plumbers and restricted master plumbers must 
report their first CE at their license renewal in December 
2014. Journeyman and restricted journeyman plumbers 
must report their first CE at their license renewal in 
December 2015. The new plumbing CE requirements 
are similar to those electricians and residential building 
contractors have been required to satisfy for licensure for 
many years.

At least 12 hours of the required 16 hours of CE must 
pertain to the State Plumbing Code. At least four hours 
must pertain to technical topics related to plumbing 
installations and equipment, the Minnesota State Building 
Code or the Minnesota statutes governing plumbing work. 
No more than four hours may be earned online in each 
license period. 

Plumbers who have more than one type of license can 
apply CE courses to all of their licenses – only the number 
of hours required for the license with the highest CE 
requirement must be fulfilled. 

Medical gas installer certification holders are required 
to take four hours of CE in order to renew certification. 
Approved CE courses taken to fulfill the plumber renewal 
requirements may also be used to fulfill the medical gas 
renewal requirement.

All plumbing contractor business licenses expire Dec. 31 
of odd-numbered years. Because the first renewal occurs 
Dec. 31, 2013, no CE will need to be reported with the 
business license renewals this year. However, in order to 
renew a plumbing contractor license in December 2015, 
a company’s responsible licensed individual (master 
plumber) must have earned 16 hours of CE and renewed 
their personal master license by Dec. 31, 2014. 

A listing of all approved CE courses is available on DLI’s 
web site. However, because the requirement to report CE 
is still more than a year away, there are not currently many 
plumbing courses available due to the lack of demand. As 
the 2014 license renewals approach, DLI expects sponsors 

to submit courses for 
approval.

For help with 
questions about 
this new education 
requirement, visit 
the plumbing CE 
page of the DLI 
website at www.
dli.mn.gov/CCLD/
pe_ce.asp. For 
additional help, send 
an e-mail to DLI.
license@state.mn.us 
or call licensing staff 
members at (651) 
284-5031. 

More information
View a directory of all  

approved CE courses at:  
www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/CE.asp

Continuing education 
requirements for plumbers: 

www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/pe_ce.asp

Contact DLI for help with 
questions at:

(651) 284-5031 or
DLI.license@state.mn.us

New rules are similar to those for electricians, residential contractors

New State Board of Plumbing rules require  that licensed plumbers 
must obtain continuing education to renew a license.

http://www.dli.mn.gov/Pb.asp
https://secure.doli.state.mn.us/ccldcecourses/
https://secure.doli.state.mn.us/ccldcecourses/
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/pe_ce.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/pe_ce.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/pe_ce.asp
mailto:DLI.license@state.mn.us
mailto:DLI.license@state.mn.us
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/CE.asp
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Splish splash ...

Bathtubs subject to new Plumbing Code requirements

Pedicure tubs
Pedicure tubs must comply with general requirements and 
water retention sections of ASME A112.19.7 or IAPMO 
IGC 155.  

Whirlpool bathtubs 
Whirlpool bathtubs with pumps, air circulation or both must 
comply with ASME A112.19.7. Pipeless whirlpool bathtubs 
must comply with ASME A112.19.7 or IAPMO IGC 155.

Tubs with pressure-sealed doors
Bathtubs and whirlpool bathtubs with pressure-sealed doors 
must comply with ASME A112.19.15.

Temperature limiting devices
All bathtubs and whirlpool tubs must also be provided with 
water temperature limiting devices set at a maximum water 
temperature of 120 degrees Fahrenheit to reduce the risk of 
scalding, according to ASSE Standard 1070. A water heater 
thermostat must not be considered a control for meeting this 
requirement. Compliance with this requirement may be met 

in the following ways:
•	 A thermostatic mixing valve meeting ASSE Standard 

1070 may be used as a point-of-use device for bathtubs 
or whirlpools or as a central thermostatic mixing valve 
serving lavatories, bathtubs or whirlpool tubs. The flow 
rate of the device must be sized to accommodate all 
uses. 

•	 An individual control valve meeting ASSE Standard 
1016 installed on a combination shower/tub valve does 
not require additional protection. 

•	 When a thermostatic mixing valve meeting ASSE 1017 
is installed, an additional ASSE 1070 valve must be 
installed at the point of use for bathtubs or whirlpool 
tubs to meet the requirement.

•	 The installation of a tub filler with two-handle faucets 
and a hand-held shower spray must be installed with 
two separate mixing devices. The tub filler must be 
provided with a device meeting ASSE 1070 and the 
shower spray must be provided with a device meeting 
ASSE 1016.

Pedicure tubs do not require a temperature limiting device. 

Plan review updates

Bunnell added to CCLD’s Building Plan Review staff
Long time and highly respected plan reviewer Dave Krings 
retired in 2012 and has been replaced with Mike Bunnell. 

Bunnell is a certified building official and brings with 
him more than 20 years of code experience in three 

municipalities in the Twin Cities area. Prior to that, Bunnell 
spent 17 years as residential and commercial carpenter.  He 
will be a full-time plan reviewer and teach plan review in 
the division’s limited building official program. He can be 
contacted at mike.bunnell@state.mn.us. 

Flow charts show the way for building, sprinkler plan submissions
A pair of flow charts to assist with the submission of building plans and sprinkler plans have been created and are now 
available on DLI’s website. Both are available for download at www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PlanConstruction.asp.

Bathtub, whirlpool and pedicure tub installations must meet new requirements of the 2012 Minnesota Plumbing Code as it 
was amended effective Oct. 31, 2012. The design and installation of bathtubs, whirlpool bathtubs and pedicure tubs must 
comply with new requirements in Minnesota Rules, part 4715.1240. These requirements were adopted to address recent 
health, safety and sanitary concerns associated with these fixtures. Some of the requirements that will affect installations 
include:

DLI encourages contractors to design and plan projects to avoid purchasing non-complying fixtures, installation 
problems and corrections during and after construction. More information about the Minnesota Plumbing Code, 
Chapter 4715, can be found at www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PlumbingCode.asp.

mailto:mike.bunnell@state.mn.us
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=4715&view=chapter#rule.4715.1240
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PlumbingCode.asp
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Plug it in

Requirements for residential arc-fault 
circuit-interrupters (AFCIs) were 
first mandated in the 1999 National 
Electrical Code (NEC) and their 
application has been expanded in 
every code cycle since. 

Until recently, installers have had 
to rely on circuit breaker type AFCI 
devices to address these requirements. 
While AFCI circuit breakers met 
the intent of the NEC requirement, 
there are many installations where 
receptacle type AFCI devices are 
not only preferable, yet also more 
economical. 
 
The actual operation of an AFCI is 
sometimes misunderstood. Unlike 
ground-fault circuit-interrupters 
(GFCIs) that provide fatal electrical 
shock protection to people by 
detecting leakage current and quickly 
disconnecting power, AFCIs protect 
structures from fires and related 
hazards by detecting arcing and 
quickly interrupting the power in the 
circuit. 

There are two types of arc faults 
that AFCI devices detect: series and 
parallel. A series arc occurs when 
a break in a single conductor or 
termination causes electricity to jump 
across the gap and creates an arc. 
Parallel arcs also occur due to a break, 
yet electrically jump between line, 
neutral or ground. Technology in the 
new AFCI receptacles addresses the 
dangers associated with both series 
and parallel arcing. Similar to GFCI 
devices, AFCI receptacles provide 
feed-through protection and are able 
to detect downstream arc-faults, both 
parallel and series, as well as upstream 

series arc faults.  

In the 2011 NEC, Article 210.12(A) 
allows the use of AFCI receptacles 
with certain limitations. The 
outlet branch-circuit (OBC) AFCI 
receptacle must be installed as the first 
receptacle of the branch circuit, and 
the conductors between the branch 
circuit overcurrent device and the 
first outlet must be installed using 
metal boxes with one of the following 
wiring methods: rigid metal conduit 
(RMC), intermediate metal conduit 
(IMC), electrical metallic tubing 
(EMT), metal-clad cable (MC) or 
steel armored cable (AC). In addition, 
NEC Article 210.12(B) addresses 
branch circuit wiring that is modified, 
replaced or extended, stating that the 
circuit must be protected by either a 
listed combination-type AFCI located 
at the origin of the branch circuit, or a 
listed OBC type AFCI located at the 
first receptacle outlet of the existing 
branch circuit.

Effective Jan. 1, 2014, NEC Article 
406.4 will require that where a 
receptacle outlet is supplied by a 
branch circuit that requires AFCI 
protection according to 210.12(A), a 
replacement receptacle at this outlet 
may be one of the following:  

•	 a listed OBC type AFCI 
receptacle, 

•	 a receptacle protected by an 
upstream listed OBC type AFCI 
receptacle, or 

•	 a receptacle protected by a 
combination (series/parallel) type 
AFCI circuit breaker.

Early proposals for the 2014 NEC 
suggest an expansion of the AFCI 

branch circuit protection requirements 
to include the kitchen and laundry 
areas of a dwelling. In addition, 
changes will allow AFCI receptacles 
to be installed with standard 
nonmetallic-sheathed (NM) type cable 
to protect the entire branch circuit in 
any of the areas specified in Article 
210.12 (A) with the following caveats:

•	 AFCI receptacles must be 
installed as the first outlet on the 
branch circuit,

•	 that first AFCI receptacle must be 
within 70 feet of the overcurrent 
protection device for 12 gauge 
conductors and within 50 feet of 
the 14 gauge conductors, and

•	 AFCI receptacles must be listed 
for compatibility with specific 
magnetic circuit breakers 
commonly found on the market 
today or used downstream from 
a new type of breaker called 
a supplemental arc protection 
(SAP) breaker that enhances the 
parallel arc protection close to the 
overcurrent device. 

Complying with these new 
requirements effectively protects the 
entire branch circuit from series and 
parallel arcs and helps to mitigate 
deadly and costly structure fires.

AFCI receptacles have arrived

Photo: www.leviton.com

Options for AFCI type receptacles grow
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Electrical work

Unlicensed individuals must register with DLI

In order to perform electrical work, an 
individual who is not licensed by the 
Department to perform electrical work 
must register with the Department.  

A registered unlicensed individual may 
only perform electrical work under 
the direct supervision of a licensed 
electrician. Minnesota Statutes 
Section 326B.33, Subdivision 12(a) 
requires both the individual providing 
direct supervision and the unlicensed 
individual be employed by the same 
employer. This determination is based 
on the tax identification numbers of 
the contractor or employer.

Registered unlicensed individuals 
that perform electrical work must 
also be employed by a licensed 
contractor or registered employer. 
“Employee” is defined in Minnesota 
Rules Part 3800.3500, Subpart A as 
“an individual whose compensation 
for electrical work is reported by the 
employer on an Internal Revenue 
Service W-2 form, and is also 
otherwise considered an employee 
under applicable laws.”
 
Contractors employing unlicensed 
individuals to perform electoral work 

are also required to maintain records 
demonstrating compliance with the 
requirements related to employing 
Registered Unlicensed individuals.  
DLI may examine these records upon 
request.  

Minnesota Statutes Section 326B.33, 
subdivision 13 does not allow DLI 
to recognize any experience gained 
in Minnesota after Jan. 1, 2009, to 
qualify an applicant for a licensing 
examination unless the applicant 
was either licensed or registered and 
employed by a licensed contractor 
or registered employer.  View more 
information, download forms or 
register online at www.dli.mn.gov/
CCLD/LicElectricalPersonal.asp.

When performing electrical work, unlicensed  
individuals must be employed by licensed contractor

Stay safe

Reminder: Call to locate utilities before you dig
Installers and contractors are being reminded that they need 
to contact Gopher State One Call to find buried utilities 
before a shovel is put into the ground or an electrical 
grounding rod or pipe is driven.   

Minnesota Statutes 216D was implemented 
to protect underground utilities and the 
general public. Contacting Gopher State 
One Call to mark the utilities is required by 
law.

The statute states that individuals must wait 
48 hours after contacting Gopher State One 
Call before digging or driving a rod or pipe. Even if it is 
believed there are no underground utilities near a dig area, 
a check must be made to ensure the utility company has 
cleared the site or responded to the request.

Gopher State One Call has an online system to submit 
dig information at www.gopherstateonecall.org/submit. 
Additional resources, including smartphone apps and 
contact details, are available at its website.

This photo illustrates how lucky these electricians were. The image 
shows where ground rods for electrodes for temporary electrical 
services were driven and almost pierced 2-inch, 60-psi buried 
gas lines. The painted lines show the location of the underground 
utilities, identified after the electrical contractors set the temporary 
services and drove the rods.

http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/LicElectricalPersonal.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/LicElectricalPersonal.asp
http://www.gopherstateonecall.org/submit
http://www.gopherstateonecall.org
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The final step Electrical employer

Final electrical inspections 
are required for projects
Electrical inspecting is interesting and challenging work, and 
electrical inspectors are very good at what they do. However, gaining 
access to industrial, commercial, agricultural and residential facilities 
to make the final electrical inspection can sometimes be the most 
difficult part of the job. 

Proper notification from the contractor to the inspector as to when 
the job is complete allows the final inspection to be made in a timely 
manner.

Failing to notify the electrical inspector when a job is complete delays 
the final inspection, and:

•	 may cause inconvenience or even hardship for the contractor’s 
customers, 

•	 may require costly and disruptive corrections be made after the 
contractor has left the job site, and

•	 may cause customers to question the contractor’s failure to 
comply with the law and increase liability exposure.

 
What does the law require?
Minnesota Rules Chapter 3801.3780, Subpart 1 (Final Inspection) 
states that: “Installers of electrical wiring shall schedule a final 
inspection or otherwise notify the electrical inspector that the work 
associated with a specific request for inspection certificate [i.e. permit] 
is completed prior to the wiring being utilized by the intended user 
and the associated space being occupied.”

Electrical inspectors often use several methods of accepting inspection 
requests ranging from office phones and cell phones to fax machines, 
emails, text messaging and web sites – all in an effort to make it 
convenient for contractors to notify the inspector of completed jobs. 
Contractors and inspectors are encouraged to utilize the wide variety 
of communication tools available today in an effort to expedite timely 
inspections. Locate inspectors at DLI’s Local Code Lookup.

What’s new with  
registered employers?

A registered employer, as defined in Minnesota 
Rule 3800.3550 is “. . . a person, partnership, 
corporation, or limited liability company who has 
one or more employees who perform electrical 
work on the employer’s electrical wiring, apparatus, 
equipment, or on facilities owned or leased by 
the employer which are located within the limits 
of property owned or leased and operated and 
maintained by the employer.” 

Within this definition, the employer is not required 
to be licensed as a contractor, but is obligated to 
submit to DLI a document identifying the licensed 
electrician, power-limited technician or electrical 
engineer responsible for electrical work performed 
by its employees.

Changes to the registered employer rules were 
implemented Jan. 1, 2012, when registered 
employers were incorporated in a new computer 
licensing software system developed to expedite 
the management of more than 100,000 construction 
trade licensees.    

Previously registered employers must re-register 
with the commissioner of DLI to become integrated 
into the new system. The registrations are valid for 
two years.

Once an employer is properly registered, the 
employer is issued a registration number which 
allows access to the agency’s online permitting 
portal. The new system will also provide automatic 
notification prior to the expiration of the two-year 
registration period.

Those signed up before Jan. 1, 
2012, must re-register with agency

The employer registration packet is 
available at www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/
LicElectricalEmployer.asp.  

For more information send an email 
message to dli.electricity@state.mn.us.

http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/ElectricalInspect.asp
http://workplace.doli.state.mn.us/jurisdiction/
http://workplace.doli.state.mn.us/jurisdiction/
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/etrakit_electrical.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/etrakit_electrical.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/LicElectricalEmployer.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/LicElectricalEmployer.asp
mailto:dli.electricity@state.mn.us
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On the water

Minnesota boat inspections commence in April
All boats-for-hire carrying more than six passengers must 
be inspected by DLI. 

The inspection process consists of two inspections: 
a dry dock inspection and a safety inspection. Safety 
inspections are required for all boats annually while dry 
dock inspection schedules are determined by the boat’s hull 
material.

Dry dock inspections 
The dry dock inspection is conducted when the boat is out 
of the water. This inspection checks for hull condition, 
through-hull connections and the following systems:  fuel, 
electrical, steering and propulsion. 

Safety inspections
The safety inspection is conducted while the boat is in the 
water. This inspection checks lighting, bilge pumps, high-
bilge-level alarms, ventilation, flammable gas detection 
systems, pyrotechnics, anchors, ring buoys, personal 
flotation devices and fire-fighting equipment. 

Schedules
The annual Lake Minnetonka boat owners meeting will be 
conducted at 9 a.m., April 10 at the Hennepin County Water 

Patrol office in Spring Lake Park. This meeting informs 
boat owners of any new regulations and allows the owners 
to meet the inspectors and schedule the dry dock and safety 
inspections. The dry dock inspections for Mille Lacs Lake 
will start the week of April 22. Boat owners on other lakes 
will be contacted to set up inspection dates.

For help with questions, contact the designated inspector 
(view the inspector map) or Joel Amato at (651) 284-
5137. More information is also at www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/
BoatsInspection.asp.

Boat inspections will begin soon on Minnesota lakes. Above, a 
Lake Minnetonka vessel receives an inspection in 2012.

Enforcement actions

Contractor fined $23,500, has license revoked 

In January 2013, DLI revoked the license of a residential building contractor from Maple Grove who failed to 
satisfy or appeal several civil judgments; failed to notify DLI of the judgments; and failed to cooperate with 
the agency’s investigation. The contractor was also ordered to cease and desist from acting as a residential 
building contractor and fined $23,500.

Another residential building contractor’s license was revoked in January 2013. The contractor, who is from 
Coon Rapids, failed to complete work on two projects and billed an insurance company for work that was 
not performed. This contractor was also ordered to cease and desist from acting as a residential contractor 
and was fined $18,000.

An unlicensed company from Stillwater was fined $4,500 and ordered to cease and desist from performing 
electrical, plumbing and residential contractor work.

Some recent CCLD enforcement actions include:

Summaries of all final CCLD enforcement actions are available at www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Enforcement.asp. 
Questions about specific enforcement actions should be directed to (651) 284-5069 or DLI.contractor@state.
mn.us.

•

•

•

http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/BoilerInspectors.asp
www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/BoatsInspection.asp
www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/BoatsInspection.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/Enforcement.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Enforcement.asp
mailto:DLI.contractor@state.mn.us
mailto:DLI.contractor@state.mn.us
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Headed west

Oil boom is a boon for manufactured structures
Minnesota’s production and inspection of manufactured 
structures has increased in recent months, in part due to 
growing demand from North Dakota’s oil boom areas.

Minnesota has 14 manufacturers of Industrialized Building 
Commission (IBC) units that range from single family 
dwellings to commercial projects like hotels, man-camp 
living quarters, generator buildings, cabins and office 
buildings. 

DLI’s Manufactured Structures Section is the third party 
review and inspection agency for those projects. The 
agency is also the third party review and inspection agency 
for Minnesota manufacturers shipping products to North 
Dakota, Wisconsin and Iowa, and Minnesota/IBC labeled 
buildings are currently being allowed by South Dakota. 

CCLD’s Manufactured Structures Section staff review 
plans and inspect units for structural, plumbing, mechanical 
and electrical codes based on the receiving states’ adopted 
construction codes.

Production and inspection
 
From July 1 to Sep. 30, 2012
•	 Minnesota had 19 percent of all IBC modular building 

production -- the highest percentage in the nation.
•	 Minnesota produced 351 modules (164 buildings when 

assembled). 207 of these modules were shipped to 

North Dakota.
•	 Minnesota was the review and inspection agency for 18 

percent of IBC manufacturers production.

From Oct. 1 to Dec. 31, 2012
•	 Minnesota had 15 percent of all IBC modular building 

production.
•	 Minnesota produced 253 modules (123 buildings when 

assembled). 157 of these modules were shipped to 
North Dakota.

•	 Minnesota was the review and inspection agency for 13 
percent of IBC manufacturers production.

Above, a worker in shown in a Minnesota production facility in 
2012. View a photo gallery from The Atlantic that shows some of 
the completed manufactured structures in which the workers live.

Boiler inspection

2013 Industry Days boiler seminar wraps up
DLI’s boiler unit recently completed its Industry 
Days seminar. The event was conducted March 25 
and 26 in Stillwater.

Dozens of attendants heard about topics ranging 
from codes, installations, safety procedures, 
incidents and violations and an array of related 
industry subjects.

Stay up-to-date with educational offerings by 
visiting www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/education.asp.

http://www.theatlantic.com/infocus/2013/03/north-dakotas-oil-boom/100473/
http://www.theatlantic.com/infocus/2013/03/north-dakotas-oil-boom/100473/
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/education.asp

