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DLI working to keep boilers safe for 130 years
Today more than 20,000 Minnesota boilers require inspection annually
DLI’s Boiler Division has been inspecting boilers and 
licensing boiler engineers for more than 130 years. 

The state boiler division was formed in 1881. Today, there are 
more than 20,000 boilers in the state that require inspection. 
DLI currently has six boiler inspectors, all of whom have 
a commission issued by the National Board of Boiler and 
Pressure Vessel Inspectors, a Chief A Boiler Engineers 
License and a Minnesota Certificate of Competency.

The boiler division inspects boilers at the time of installation 
and annually thereafter to determine if the boilers meet 
all requirements and to ensure the boilers are operated by 
properly licensed engineers. 

All boilers that require inspection in Minnesota must meet 
the construction requirements of the American Society of 
Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Code. This includes ASME 
code Sections I, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X, and CSD-
1.  Boilers with inputs greater than 12,500,000 BTU must 
comply with National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 
Standard 85.  

Some boilers are not required to be inspected by DLI. The 
inspection requirements of Minnesota Statutes 326B.93 to 
326B.998 do not apply to:

Tom Boyle, DLI boiler inspector, checks an operator log during an 
inspection.

DLI’s boiler inspectors help ensure 
that if any of the thousands of 
boilers and pressure vessels scattered 
throughout Minnesota are deemed 
unsafe, the units are repaired or 
removed from service.

Recently, a  low-pressure steam 
boiler in a metro-area apartment 
building was removed from service 
until repairs were made because 
of its deteriorated and dangerous 
condition.

Unsafe boiler uncovered by inspector, removed from service

1) Hot water heating and other hot liquid boilers not 
exceeding a heat input of 750,000 BTU each hour 
(total BTU input of all boilers connected to a common 
header).

An engineer’s license and annual inspection by DLI 
is not required for boilers, steam cookers, steam 
kettles, steam sterilizers or other steam generators not 
exceeding 100,000 BTU per hour input, 25 kilowatt 
and a pressure of 15 p.s.i.g.

Hot water supply boilers (water heaters) not exceeding 
a heat input of 500,000 BTU each hour, a water 
temperature of 210 F, a nominal water capacity of 120 
gallons, or a pressure of 160 p.s.i.g. (total BTU input 
of all boilers connected to a common header).

2)

3)

See Minnesota Statutes 326B.93 to 326B.998 for the full 
list of inspection exceptions at  
www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PDF/boiler_boats.pdf.

Read more about the unsafe boiler and view photos at www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/boiler_StPaul.asp. 

www.dli.mn.gov
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Boiler.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Boiler.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Boiler.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/BoilerInspectors.asp
www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PDF/boiler_boats.pdf
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/boiler_StPaul.asp
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Enforcement actions

Contractor fined $15,000 for defrauding customers
Some recent CCLD enforcement actions include an:

unlicensed residential building contractor fined $15,000 for defrauding customers; an

unlicensed plumber fined $3,500 for continuing to engage in unlicensed plumbing after 
being ordered to cease and desist by DLI; and an

electrical contractor’s journeyman electrician and electrical contractor licenses revoked 
and $10,000 fine imposed based on allegations that he failed to replace his responsible 
master, failed to make required code corrections, failed to pay for electrical supplies and 
failed to cooperate with the investigation.   

•

•

•

More enforcement and licensing actions are available at www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/Enforcement.asp 

Enforcement actions
View enforcement 

and license actions 
taken against 

licensees.

Two bonds to one

DLI has regulated plumbing work since the 2005 
Construction Codes and Licensing Division 
consolidation. The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency 
(MPCA) has historically regulated subsurface sewage 
treatment systems (SSTS or “septic systems”). During that 
time, contractors who performed SSTS work were required 
to file a bond with MPCA, while plumbers were required to 
file a bond with DLI.  

As a result of a 2006 change in the plumbing licensing 
and bonding requirements for septic system supply 
piping, many SSTS contractors were required to file a 
plumbing bond with DLI in addition to their SSTS bond 
with MPCA. DLI and MPCA staff members decided that 
it would be beneficial to these contractors to enable them 
to file a single bond that would cover all of the work of a 
plumbing and SSTS contractor. 

The agencies worked together to achieve rule and statute 
changes which resulted in a completed program Jan. 1, 
2012. Now, licensed plumbing contractors and SSTS 
contractors are only required to file a “dual bond” with 
DLI, which administers the bond program.

During the implementation of the new bond program, 
MPCA staff identified a need to obtain data from DLI 
relating to SSTS contractors who had successfully filed 

their bond with DLI in order to verify the contractors’ 
eligibility to obtain or renew their MPCA licensure. 

To meet this need, DLI provided MPCA online access 
to the its bond report. Now, MPCA staff can verify that 
SSTS licensees and applicants are in compliance with the 
bond filing requirement. This easy verification process 
enables contractors to simplify their business by filing a 
single bond with the state and enables MPCA to access 
the data they need without having to create and maintain a 
separate database of bond information. The data is updated 
automatically each day.

MPCA is pleased with its ability to access the bond data 
needed to approve licenses without having to review 
hundreds of bonds each year.  

Agency cooperation simplifies SSTS bonds

View more information about the 
SSTS program from the MPCA.

http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/Enforcement.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/Enforcement.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/Enforcement.asp
http://www.pca.state.mn.us/
http://www.pca.state.mn.us/
http://www.pca.state.mn.us/index.php/water/water-types-and-programs/wastewater/subsurface-sewage-treatment-system-ssts/minnesota-s-subsurface-sewage-treatment-systems-program-ssts.html
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Insurance companies must provide DLI notice of policy cancellation or nonrenewal

Contractor insurance policy requirements update

Minnesota’s insurance laws (M.S. 60A.36) require a 
contractor or business insurance company to provide DLI 
written notice of a policy cancellation or nonrenewal, 
subject to the terms of the policy. Policyholders must notify 
their insurance company, through an endorsement on the 
policy, that DLI is to be notified if the insurance policy is 
canceled or not renewed. 

Liability insurance is required
Businesses and contractors licensed by DLI must have and 
maintain general liability insurance coverage. This means 
the business or contractor must have a general liability 
insurance policy in effect when a license is issued and 
maintain continuous liability insurance coverage throughout 
the license period.

Cancellation notice
In the event of a policy cancellation, insurers are required 
by law to send a written notice to DLI “at the same time that 
a cancellation request is received from or a notice is sent to 
the insured.” Notice to DLI is required to be made even if 
the insurance company cancels or non-renews the policy.

Policy endorsement
Before an insurance company can notify DLI about a 
policy cancellation or non-renewal, it needs to know who 
and where to send the notice. The licensed business or 
contractor must notify the insurer, through an endorsement 
to the insurance policy, that the department is to be notified 
if the insurance company cancels or non-renews the policy. 
DLI’s name and address should appear as the certificate 
holder on the endoresement as:

	 Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
	 CCLD Licensing and Certification Services
	 443 Lafayette Road North
	 St. Paul, MN 55155

ACORD form accepted
Because of changes in the cancellation notice language 
of the ACORD Certificate of Liability Insurance and 
notification requirement for cancellation or non-renewal 
of liability insurance, DLI will now accept the most recent 
version of the ACORD Certificate of Liability Insurance 
form (ACORD 25 2010/05) as evidence of insurance 
coverage. The content on the certificate must include:
 
	 • the insurance company name and its NAIC number; 
	 • policyholder’s legal name, assumed name (dba) if  
		  applicable, and physical address; 
	 • policy information including policy number, effective  
		  date, expiration date, and policy limits; 
	 • insurance agent information and signature; and 
	 • DLI identified as the certificate holder.

Enforcement
Any licensed business or contractor failing to keep liability 
insurance coverage in effect is immediately presumed 
to be unlicensed and, as such, prohibited from acting or 
holding themselves out as a licensed business or contractor. 
Unlicensed activity is a misdemeanor and will result in 
enforcement action against the business or contractor, 
including a civil penalty of up to $10,000 for each violation. 
Licensed businesses and contractors that discontinue their 
liability insurance coverage must terminate their license by 
returning the license certificate to DLI.

Contractor insurance

326B.33, Subd. 16 
• Electrical contractor
• Elevator contractor
• Technology system contractor

326B.46, Subd. 2
• Plumbing contractor

326B.921, Subd. 6
• High-pressure-piping business

327B.04, Subd. 4(c)(2) 
• Manufactured home  
	 Manufacturer
• Manufactured home dealer
• Manufactured home dealer  
	 subAgency

326B.56, Subd. 2(b)
• Water conditioning contractor

326B.86, Subd. 2
• Residential building  
	 contractor
• Residential remodeler
• Residential roofer
• Manufactured home installer

View the mandatory liability insurance laws for Minnesota’s construction trades

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=326B.33&year=2010#stat.326B.33.16
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=326B.46&year=2010#stat.326B.46.2
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=326B.921&year=2010#stat.326B.921.6
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=327B.04&year=2010#stat.327B.04.4
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=326B.56&year=2010#stat.326B.56.2
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=326B.86&year=2010#stat.326B.86.2
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CCLD Review is a quarterly 
publication of the Minnesota 
Department of Labor and 
Industry.   
Receive e-mail notification 
when an issue is available by 
subscribing online. 

CCLD main contact info
Phone: 	 (651) 284-5012 	
Toll-free:	1-800-657-3944
Fax:  		  (651) 284-5749 	
TTY:  		  (651) 297-4198

Visit the Contact Us page 

Licensing information
DLI.License@state.mn.us
Business/Contractor Licenses 
and Bonds: 	  (651) 284-5034
(Including:  Electrical, HPP, Plumbing, 
Residential, Manufactured Structures, 
Mechanical Bonds, Technology 
System, Water Conditioning)

Personal Licenses and 
Certificates:   (651) 284-5031
(Including:  Boiler Engineers, 
Electricians, Plumbers, Power Limited 
Technicians, Pipefitters, Unlicensed 
Individuals, Building Officials)

Electrical information
Phone:  	(651) 284-5026		
Fax: 			  (651) 284-5749
DLI.Electricity@state.mn.us   

Boiler, High-Pressure Piping, 
Boats-for-Hire inspection
Phone: 	 (651) 284-5544	
Fax:  		  (651) 284-5737
DLI.Code@state.mn.us

Plumbing information
Phone:		 (651) 284-5063 			 
Fax: 			  (651) 284-5748
DLI.Plumbing@state.mn.us     

License enforcement details
Phone:  	(651) 284-5069			 
Fax:  		  (651) 284-5746
DLI.Contractor@state.mn.us

Independent Contractor 
Exemption Cert. information
Phone:  	(651) 284-5074			 
DLI.ic@state.mn.us

Contact information

Page 4  •  ccld review •  fall 2011  • minnesota department of labor and industry

State Building Code, State 
Fire Code adoption update
The State Building Code has a significant impact on the construction industry 
in Minnesota. For this reason, DLI solicits input from many groups to help 
solve construction problems and to make sure that the adopted model code fits 
the needs of the citizens, meets statutory requirements and takes into account 
Minnesota’s climatic conditions. 

Currently, technical advisory committee members are wrapping up their code 
amendment drafts to begin the building code and fire code adoption process 
outlined in Minnesota Statutes Chapter 14 and Minnesota Rules Chapter 
1400.

The committees are drafting amendments to the 2012 IBC, 2012 IRC and 
2012 IFC and other state codes. In some cases, current amendments to the 
2006 codes will be eliminated since they have been incorporated into the 2012 
versions. The code adoption process, or “rulemaking,” includes committee 
work to adopt a new elevator code, residential and commercial energy codes,
accessibility code, existing buildings code, mechanical and fuel gas codes as
well as updating chapter 1300 Administration and chapter 1303 Minnesota
Provisions.

The Structural Committee reviews structural changes to the IBC, IRC and the
existing buildings code. The Fire Chiefs Code Committee will amend the 
2012 IFC.

The adoption date for all of the codes is anticipated to occur in early 2013.

Advisory committee process
Advisory committee members and the organizations they represent submit 
code change proposals for the full committee to review. The committee 
members represent a cross-section of the construction industry that includes 
architects, builders, engineers, building officials, product manufacturers and 
representatives of other state agencies. This variety helps to balance the work 
of the committee so that all sides of an issue can be debated and resolved. The 
committees meet as often as needed, and as long as needed, to review and 
reach consensus on the code change proposals.

Additionally, the Construction Codes Advisory Council is required to review 
and comment on all current and proposed rules to promote coordination and 
consistency among the various codes and advise agencies or organizations 
about any concerns they may have.

Follow the committee process and view documents,  
member lists and more www.dli.mn.gov/RulemakingCCL.asp.

Advisory committees

http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Review.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/ccldcontactus.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/ccldcontactus.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Forms.asp
mailto:DLI.License@state.mn.us
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Electrical.asp
mailto:DLI.Electricity@state.mn.us
http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld.asp
mailto:DLI.Code@state.mn.us
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Plumbing.asp
mailto:DLI.Plumbing@state.mn.us
http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/Enforcement.asp
mailto:DLI.Contractor@state.mn.us
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Icec.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Icec.asp
mailto:DLI.ic@state.mn.us
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/ccldcontactus.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/Ccac.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/RulemakingCCL.asp
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Elevators

• Follow DLI on Twitter at  
	 www.twitter.com/mndli. 

• Subscribe to DLI’s RSS feed to 
	 be instantly notified of news at  
	 http://search.twitter.com/search. 
	 atom?q=mndli. 

• View DLI’s YouTube channel at  
	 www.youtube.com/user/mndli1.

• Sign up for  other DLI newsletters  
	 focusing on workers’ compensation,  
	 OSHA and more at  
	 www.dli.mn.gov/publications.asp.

Stay in touch

Elevator equipment compliance plans are required
The deadline for compliance with the 
following elevator safety requirements 
for existing elevators was Jan. 29, 
2012. Some of the requirements 
include:

Fire fighter’s service 
Elevators must conform to the 
requirements of ASME A17.1-1987, 
Rules for Fire Service, as a minimum 
unless installed under a later edition of 
the A17.1.

Cylinder safety bulkheads
Hydraulic cylinders buried in the 
ground must have a safety bulkhead or 
a double cylinder.

Door restrictor devices
Car and hoistway doors must not be 
capable of being opened when the 
elevator is more than 18 inches from 
a floor.

Elevator equipment owners who 
have been notified by DLI or another 
authorized municipal inspection 
authority are required to have their 

elevators in compliance or have an 
approved compliance plan filed with 
the agency. 

Elevator equipment owners that have 
not been notified by DLI or authorized 
municipal inspection authority have 
60 days from the date of notification 
to either comply with the safety 
requirements or submit an acceptable 
compliance plan.

Approved plans can provide an owner 
up to three years from the date of 
submission of the plan to achieve 
compliance.

Information about elevator compliance 
plans is available at:
www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PDF/elev_
compliance.pdf.

Online tools

• Verify personal and business licenses online with the License Lookup tool.

• Search for continuing education courses in DLI’s online directory.

• Apply for a new license or renew an existing license online.

Use DLI’s online tools to verify or renew a license, find courses and more

Contractor license 
and independent 
contractor certificate 

License Lookup

Get Started

Verify a license, 
certificate or 
registration

License Lookup

http://search.twitter.com/search.atom?q=mndli
http://search.twitter.com/search.atom?q=mndli
http://www.youtube.com/user/mndli1
http://www.twitter.com/mndli
http://search.twitter.com/search.atom?q=mndli
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PDF/elev_compliance.pdf
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PDF/elev_compliance.pdf
https://secure.doli.state.mn.us/lookup/licensing.aspx
https://secure.doli.state.mn.us/ccldcecourses/
https://secure.doli.state.mn.us/license/intro.aspx
http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/LicVerify.asp
www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/LicVerify.asp
www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/LicVerify.asp
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Submit comments for 2014 edition of the NEC
National Electrical Code

Proposals for the 2014 NEC have been 
processed by code-making panels.

Although the 2011 National Electrical Code (NEC) was just adopted  this past 
summer, proposals for the 2014 edition have already been processed by the various 
NEC code-making panels.  

All of the 2014 NEC proposals and the respective panels’ actions can be viewed at 
the National Fire Protection Association website.

On the NFPA’s website, look under the heading “ROP Ballots” and select “Ballot 
Final, NEC-PXX” to review the proposals and actions of the each of the 19 code-
making panels. Both the electronic and printed editions of the Report on Proposals 
and the draft of the 2014 NEC will be available in mid-July and are available for 
free from NFPA.

Anyone may submit comments about the proposals and panel actions. Comments 
must be submitted via a comment form and returned to NFPA via e-mail, mail or fax 
no later than 5 p.m. EST, on Oct.17, 2012. Download a comment form (Microsoft 
Word document).

DLI’s Sampson presented with NCEL GEM Award
GEM Award

This past April, Marcus “Sam” Sampson, an electrical area 
representative with DLI’s Construction Codes and Licensing 
Divison, was presented with the North Central Electrical 
League’s GEM Award at the Upper Midwest Electrical 
Expo. Sampson is only the fourth individual to receive the 
award since 2000. 

The NCEL GEM Award is presented to an individual who 
“goes the extra mile” on behalf of the Upper Midwest 
Electrical Industry and has advanced the interests of 
the entire electrical industry by actively participating in 
programs whose purposes extend beyond the direct interest 
of their primary industry sector.

Sampson has dedicated himself to working with all factions 
of the electrical industry. He strongly supports the missions 
of the North Central Electrical League, the International 
Association of Electrical Inspectors, International 
Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, Minnesota Electrical 
Association, National Electrical Manufacturers Association 
and the National Electrical Contractors Association. 

He is past chairman and current secretary/treasurer of 

the Minnesota Chapter of the International Association 
of Electrical Inspectors. He serves as a principle member 
for the National Fire Protection Association’s National 
Electrical Code Panel 15 and on the Underwriters 
Laboratories Electrical Council.

Sam Sampson, left, receives the NCEL GEM Award from George 
Cusick, a representative of Cooper Bussmann. 

www.nfpa.org/AboutTheCodes/AboutTheCodes.asp?docnum=70&tab=nextedition&cookie%5Ftest=1
http://www.nfpa.org/assets/files/PDF/CodesStandards/2014NECCommentForm.doc
http://www.nfpa.org/assets/files/PDF/CodesStandards/2014NECCommentForm.doc
http://www.nfpa.org/assets/files/PDF/CodesStandards/2014NECCommentForm.doc
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Charter boats

Inspection of Minnesota charter boats is underway
Before many charter boats moored 
on scenic Minnesota lakes can push 
away from shore each year they must 
be inspected by DLI staff.

DLI’s boiler inspectors perform the 
annual safety inspections of about 
90 charter boats in eight Minnesota 
lakes. They also perform dry-dock 
inspections every three years (or 
annually for wood-hulled vessels.) 

The annual safety inspections 
include an array of safety checks like 
ensuring proper flotation devices 
are onboard, engine safety sensors 
and pumps operate properly, fire 

suppression systems are up-to-date, 
and more.

According to state law, boats-for-
hire propelled by machinery or sails 
navigating Minnesota’s inland waters 
and carrying more than six passengers 
are subject to the inspection 
requirements. Vessels inspected by 
the U.S. Coast Guard are exempt. 

Waterways that include DLI-
inspected boats are: Lake 
Minnetonka, Mille Lacs Lake, Leech 
Lake, Lake Winnibigoshish, Green 
Lake, Prior Lake, Lake Shetek and 
Burntside Lake.

DLI inspector Dave Gonsoski inspects a 
charter boat along Lake Minnetonka.

Pipe-layers

Water and sewer pipe-layer training best practices
In order to perform water and sewer pipe-laying work, Minnesota law requires individuals to obtain a plumbing bond or 
be an employee of a person in compliance with the bond and insurance requirements of Minn. Stat. §326B.46, subd. 2. 

Individuals performing building sewer or water service installation are not required to hold a plumbers license if they have 
completed pipe-laying training.

The commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry recommends the following best practices for water and sewer 
pipe-laying training.

1.  Entities performing water and sewer pipe-laying  
	 training are responsible for providing qualified  
	 instructors. Qualifications generally include a mix of  
	 directly related formal training and field experience.  

2.  The instructors maintain records of those who have  
	 taken the training and issue pipe-layer cards dated  
	 with the expiration date to those who pass the course.  
	 Cards are carried in the field when performing pipe- 
	 laying work and expire every three years.  

3. 	Instruction in water and sewer pipe-laying includes:
•	 trench safety
•	 utility locating
•	 pipe materials

•	 pipe cutting and joining techniques
•	 sanitary and storm sewers
•	 trench dewatering
•	 setting elevations
•	 hydrants
•	 manholes and catch basins
•	 confined space entry
•	 blueprint reading
•	 testing
•	 erosion/sediment control

4.  Refresher pipe-laying training consisting of at least 
four hours of training is provided at least once every 
three years in order to maintain a pipe-layer card.  

5.  Successful completion of the course includes passing 
the course test.
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Plan review

DLI taking steps to streamline plumbing review
Projects identified as ‘minor remodel’ do not require plan submittal;  
‘report-on-plans’ process to reduce delays before construction can begin

DLI has recently modified the process of handling and 
reviewing plumbing plans to provide for more efficient plan 
review. Several changes have been made to identify and 
address minor remodeling installations and to reduce the 
review turnaround of plans submitted for code review. 

Minor remodel projects identified
DLI has identified minor remodel projects consisting of 
five or fewer fixtures that may be issued a permit without 
approval of plans or specification by DLI. This only applies 
to certain “non-licensed facilities” for standard installation, 
replacement or relocation of fixtures and materials when 
inspected and approved by the administrative authority.  

Read more about the process and the projects that are 
eligible minor remodels at www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/
PlanPlumbingFAQ.asp#minor_remodel.

Report-on-plans
To enable work to begin sooner, DLI may offer a code 
compliance review called a “report-on-plans” after 
receiving sufficient plumbing plans, specifications and plan 
review fees.

The report-on-plans authorizes the plumbing permit to be 
issued and work to begin after plans have been reviewed 
by DLI. This report will state that the plans are approved 
for construction subject to correcting any specific code 
violations discovered during the review. This authorization 
is premised upon expected communication between the 
designer and the contractor about code violations in the 
plans that will be corrected and installed to code. 

With a report-on-plans, it is not necessary for the plumbing 
designer to resubmit corrected plans to DLI. It will be 
explicitly stated in the report-on-plans that the work must 
be installed in compliance with the Plumbing Code. 

This process will result in projects being able to begin 
immediately after receiving a report-on-plans and obtaining 
a plumbing permit. Designers should ensure a complete and 
quality set of plans are submitted to reduce delays. 

When plans, specifications or fees are incomplete to 

the point where a code compliance review cannot be 
performed, or when requests for alternate materials or 
methods are received, a plan correction letter will be 
issued. The plan designer must then provide additional 
information or resubmit a complete set of plans to address 
the corrections. Once the updated information is reviewed 
and found to be acceptable, a report-on-plans will be sent 
and the permit may be issued.

Questions about plumbing plan review?  
Find help and contact information at 
www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PlanPlumbing.asp.

DLI is taking steps to streamline the plumbing plan review 
process.

http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PlanPlumbingFAQ.asp#minor_remodel
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PlanPlumbingFAQ.asp#minor_remodel
www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PlanPlumbing.asp
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Common building plan review 
questions answered by CCLD staff
The questions below are part of an ongoing series featuring frequently asked questions received
by CCLD’s Building Plan Review Section. The responses are the opinions of the plan review staff
and do not represent an official division or State Building Official interpretation.

Q: Is cove base tile required at the transition between the wall and the floor of a rest room?

IBC sec. 1210.1 does not specifically require this, however  the commentary in this section in 
the 2006 IBC Handbook states: “The intent here is that the flooring form an integral cove so that 
there will be no sharp joint at the floor/wall intersection.” 

The handbook is a guide to assist building officials in their interpretation and enforcement of the 
IBC. The ultimate decision lies with the building official. Since it is not clearly spelled out in the 2006 IBC, if the 
building official feels that the intent of the code section is for ease of cleaning, then the designer should be told 
this in writing during jurisdiction’s plan review. It would not be appropriate to cite it during an inspection after the 
material has been installed. 

Q:
A:

A rest room is proposed for a mezzanine that is not required to be on an accessible route.  
Does the rest room need to meet the requirements for accessibility?

Yes. Even though a ramp or elevator is not required to provide access to the mezzanine with the 
rest room, the rest room would still need to meet all the accessible building elements (grab bars, 
maneuvering clearance, clear space, dispensers, toilet and sink heights, etc.).

A:

View more information about building plan review and find contact 
information at www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PlanConstruction.asp.

View archived building plan review questions and answers at  
www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PlanArticles.asp

http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PlanConstruction.asp

