
Construction Codes and Licensing Division 
State Building Code Educational Programs  

 
 

The State Building Code provides basic and uniform construction standards and establishes reasonable 

safeguards for health, safety, welfare, comfort and security for Minnesotans. Knowledge of the code by 

architects, engineers, contractors, installers, building officials, inspectors, and material suppliers is 

critical for compliance to be achieved in their work.  CCLD has determined that education is the most 

cost effective way to achieve compliance.   

CCLD provides education programs through two methods:  

1. Regularly scheduled division seminars: These seminars scheduled in advance by CCLD staff are 

presented around the state, include handout materials, and are open to anyone to attend. Typically, 

CCLD seminars are presented in the spring or fall of each year based on staff availability. CCLD is the 

course sponsor for these seminars and will charge participants the amount required to cover the state’s 

costs of presenting these programs.   

2. Requested Educational offerings: 

CCLD will strive to accommodate requests from outside organizations, individuals, or other Course 

Sponsors for CCLD staff participation in their educational offerings.  These requests will be evaluated 

based on the order in which they were received; subject matter; availability of the specific staff 

expertise needed; and the number of anticipated attendees.  The requestor will be charged a fee to 

offset costs for providing longer programs.  CCLD will provide a copy of the materials electronically to 

the requestor but will not provide printed materials for attendees.  Course Sponsors must comply with 

Minnesota Statutes 326B.0981 to offer any course for continuing education credit.  

Organizations, individuals, or Course Sponsors may wish to request CCLD staff to participate in the 

following:    

Panels: In the event a requestor would like to include CCLD staff on a building code discussion panel or 

as a panel moderator, staff may be made available without a fee.   

Workshops: If a requestor would like CCLD staff to deliver a workshop presentation, CCLD can provide 

up to 3 hours of building code information without a fee.    

Seminars:  For educational programs longer than 3 hours, the requestor will be charged a fee to cover 

the CCLD preparation and presentation time as follows: 

Half day, more than three hours of instruction     $300.00 

Full day, more than five hours of instruction    $600.00 


