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Instructions for Filling Out 
Certificate of Insurance 

This material can be made available in different forms, such as large print, Braille or on a tape. 
To request, call 1-800-342-5354 (DIAL-DLI) Voice or TDD 651-297-4198.

Form must be completed by the insurance agent or insurance company, not by the policyholder. 
Important: Policyholder must add an endorsement to policy to provide notice to the department of labor and industry (Certificate 
Holder name and address) if the insurer cancels or non-renews the policy subject to the terms of the policy. 
1. In the License No field, enter the insured’s license number. Note:  New applicants will leave License No blank. 
2. The insured name must be the legal name of the business entity as used on the business or contractor license application 

form and all other forms. If insured is an Individual Proprietor using an assumed name (DBA) both the individual’s name and 
the DBA must appear on the certificate. The business/contractor name that an applicant uses to identify themselves must be 
filed or registered with Minnesota’s Office of the Secretary of State.  Note: Only individual (sole proprietor) or partnership 
business types using their own true full name(s) of the individual or all partners as part of the business name are not 
required to be registered with the Office of the Secretary of State.  Contact:  651-296-2803; 1-877-551-6767. 

3. The DBA (doing business as) name is the assumed name for the insured entity, if different from the contractor’s or 
business’s legal name, as filed or registered with the Minnesota Office of the Secretary of State. 

4. Physical street address for the licensed business entity (location from where the business is operated) and mailing address, 
if different from the physical street address. 

5. Insurance policy information must include the policy number, dates of coverage, and the name of the insurance company 
licensed to do business in the state of Minnesota. The box is required to be checked to certify that the insurance policy 
meets the minimum statutory insurance requirements detailed on the form. 

6. Name of person who certifies insurance coverage (name of agent, corporate officer, or other authorized representative), 
insurance agent’s license number, insurance agency’s name and address, insurance agency’s phone number. 

7. Signature of the agent certifying the insurance coverage and the date certificate was signed. 
 

Certificate of Insurance Laws (Excerpts) 
Reprinted below are excerpts of the applicable laws requiring liability insurance for contractor/business licenses regulated by DLI. 

326B.33, Subd. 16 (as amended) – Electrical Contractor, Elevator Contractor, Technology System Contractor  Effective 1/1/2011 
Each contractor shall have and maintain in effect general liability insurance, which includes premises and operations insurance and products and completed 
operations insurance, with limits of at least $100,000 per occurrence, $300,000 aggregate limit for bodily injury, and property damage insurance with limits of at 
least $50,000 or a policy with a single limit for bodily injury and property damage of $300,000 per occurrence and $300,000 aggregate limits. Such insurance 
shall be written by an insurer licensed to do business in the state of Minnesota and each contractor shall maintain on file with the commissioner a certificate 
evidencing such insurance. In the event of a policy cancellation, the insurer shall send written notice to the commissioner at the same time that a cancellation 
request is received from or a notice is sent to the insured. 

326B.46, Subd. 2 (as amended) – Plumbing Business  Effective 1/1/2011 
…In addition, each applicant for a master plumber license or renewal thereof, shall provide evidence of public liability insurance, including products liability 
insurance with limits of at least $50,000 per person and $100,000 per occurrence and property damage insurance with limits of at least $10,000. The insurance 
shall be written by an insurer licensed to do business in the state of Minnesota and each licensed master plumber shall maintain on file with the commissioner a 
certificate evidencing the insurance In the event of a policy cancellation, the insurer shall send written notice to the commissioner at the same time that a 
cancellation request is received from or a notice is sent to the insured. 

326B.56, Subd. 2(b) (as amended) – Water Conditioning Contractor  Effective 1/1/2011 
The insurance shall provide coverage, including products liability coverage, for all damages in connection with licensed work for which the licensee is liable, with 
personal damage limits of at least $50,000 per person and $100,000 per occurrence and property damage insurance with limits of at least $10,000. The 
insurance shall be written by an insurer licensed to do business in this state and a certificate evidencing the insurance shall be filed with the commissioner. The 
insurance must remain in effect at all times while the application is pending and while the license is in effect. In the event of a policy cancellation, the insurer 
shall send written notice to the commissioner at the same time that a cancellation request is received from or a notice is sent to the insured. 

326B.86, Subd. 2 (as amended) – Residential Building Contractor, Remodeler, Roofer, Manufactured Home Installer  Effective 1/1/2011 
Each licensee shall have and maintain in effect commercial general liability insurance, which includes premises and operations insurance and products and 
completed operations insurance, with limits of at least $100,000 per occurrence, $300,000 aggregate limit for bodily injury, and property damage insurance with 
limits of at least $25,000 or a policy with a single limit for bodily injury and property damage of $300,000 per occurrence and $300,000 aggregate limits. The 
insurance must be written by an insurer licensed to do business in this state. Each licensee shall maintain on file with the commissioner a certificate evidencing 
the insurance. In the event of a policy cancellation, the insurer shall send written notice to the commissioner at the same time that a cancellation request is 
received from or a notice is sent to the insured. The commissioner may increase the minimum amount of insurance required for any licensee or class of 
licensees if the commissioner considers it to be in the public interest and necessary to protect the interests of Minnesota consumers. 

326B.921, Subd. 6 (as amended) – High Pressure Piping Business  Effective 1/1/2011 
…each applicant for a high pressure pipefitting business license or renewal shall have in force public liability insurance, including products liability insurance, 
with limits of at least $100,000 per person and $300,000 per occurrence and property damage insurance with limits of at least $50,000. The insurance must be 
kept in force for the entire term of the high pressure pipefitting business license, and the license shall be suspended by the department if at any time the 
insurance is not in force. The insurance must be written by an insurer licensed to do business in the state and shall be in lieu of any other insurance required by 
any subdivision of government for high pressure pipefitting. Each person holding a high pressure pipefitting business license shall maintain on file with the 
department a certificate evidencing the insurance. In the event of a policy cancellation, the insurer shall send written notice to the commissioner at the same time 
that a cancellation request is received from or a notice is sent to the insured. 

327B.04, Subd. 4(c)(2) (as amended) – Manufactured Home Manufacturer, Manufactured Home Dealer (subagency dealer) Effective 1/1/2011 
…(2) a certificate of liability insurance in the amount of $1,000,000 that provides coverage for the agency and each subagency location. In the event of a policy 
cancellation, the insurer shall send written notice to the commissioner at the same time that a cancellation request is received from or a notice is sent to the 
insured. 



LIABILITY INSURANCE CERTIFICATE EXAMPLES 
 

Individual Proprietors With an Assumed Name 

 
 

Corporations or Limited Liability Companies Without an Assumed Name 

 
 

Corporations or Limited Liability Companies With an Assumed Name 

 

  

 
 

  

  

  




