Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Orange bar
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry

Medical gas certification

 New license, certification and registration fees effective July 1, 2017 (PDF).

Legislation passed in 2010 and 2011 created significant changes for the plumbing industry and in medical gas system installations and service. These changes became effective Nov. 27, 2012. The legislation has the following effect:

Medical gas system licensure and certification requirements

A contractor offering to perform or performing medical gas installations, maintenance or repair must be licensed by DLI as a plumbing contractor. Individuals working for a plumbing contractor performing medical gas installations, maintenance or repair must obtain a DLI medical gas certification.

In order to obtain the DLI certification, an individual must be a "certified installer" which means they have met the requirements of ASSE 6010 Medical Gas System Installers and the brazing qualifications as defined in NFPA 99C, and are currently certified to this standard and qualification by National Inspection Testing Certification (NITC) or by a recognized third party agency.

Individuals who were a certified installer on Aug. 1, 2010, may apply for their DLI certification whether or not they are a licensed plumber. An individual who became a certified installer after August 1, 2010, must have an active master plumber or journeyman plumber license in order to apply for the DLI medical gas certification.

The initial registration fee is $54.80. The renewal fee is $74.80.

  • Applicants who were a certified installer on Aug. 1, 2010, are required to submit a copy of documentation verifying certification on Aug. 1, 2010, a copy of their current certification card along with a completed DLI medical gas certification application form.

Medical gas application

bullet Medical gas certification application form

bullet Medical gas certification statutes and rules (Minn. Stat. § 326B.438 and Minn. Rules 4716.0070 )

Medical gas continuing education  

An applicant for renewal of a medical gas installer certification is required to obtain four hours of continuing education instruction during the certification period before the certification may be renewed. The required hours of instruction must pertain to the technical topics related to the installation, repair, or maintenance of medical gas systems this chapter, NFPA 99, or Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.438. Approved continuing education courses that are taken to fulfill the plumber license renewal requirements may also be used to fulfill the medical gas certification renewal requirement. A directory of approved continuing education courses is available online.

DLI home page | Directions and maps | News and media | Website disclaimer