Decorative bar
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Powered by Google

Education services

This section provides education for building officials, the design profession and the construction industry through several biannual training seminars given two times a year around the state.

The section also meets with and provides education and input to other construction-related industries such as the Homebuilders Association, Minnesota Institute of Architects, Minnesota Coalition of Structural Engineers, Consulting Engineers Council, Minnesota Society of Heating, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Engineers and other associations.

bullet State Building Code Educational Programs Policy (PDF)

bullet For continuing education opportunities, visit the directory of approved continuing education courses.

Mike Godfrey, supervisor, (651) 284-5862


Seminars and educational opportunities

2014 Fall CCLD Seminars: DLI is offering two seminars that will be offered at nine locations throughout Minnesota from September to December.

bullet CCLD Seminar: Are You Ready for the 2012 IRC?

This seminar will focus on the amendments for Minnesota Rules chapters 1300, Minnesota Building Code Administration; 1303, Minnesota Provisions to the Minnesota State Building Code, including new radon provisions; and 1309, Minnesota Residential Code. Each of these rule chapters is essential to effectively use the 2012 International Residential Code. Presenters will identify how to effectively use the rule chapters and explain through examples how the rule "repealer" works. The presenters will also provide background information and explain the purpose and intent of the applicable amendments. The seminar will conclude with a question and answer session.

Continuing education
This course is approved by DLI for seven hours of continuing education for building officials, residential building contractors, roofers and remodelers, and manufactured home installers. This seminar does not include energy education.

Cost and registration
The cost to attend the seminar is $85, payable by credit card. The seminar is scheduled at numerous locations throughout Minnesota from September to December. Space is limited. Seminar fees are nonrefundable except for any overpayment of fees or if the seminar is canceled (Minnesota Statutes 326B.098).

bullet View locations, the complete seminar schedule and register online here.


bullet CCLD Seminar: Mechanical and Energy Code Changes for Residential Buildings in the IECC, IMC and IFGC

This seminar will focus on amendments and significant changes with the adoption of the 2012 International Energy Conservation Code (IECC), 2012 International Mechanical Code (IMC), and 2012 International Fuel Gas Code (IFGC). Material content will primarily concentrate on applications toward residential buildings and structures. The seminar will conclude with an introduction to amendments and significant changes applicable to commercial buildings.

Continuing education
This course has been approved by DLI for seven hours of continuing education for building officials, residential building contractors, roofers and remodelers, and manufactured home installers. This seminar does include energy education.

Cost and registration
The cost to attend the seminar is $85, payable by credit card. The seminar is scheduled at numerous locations throughout Minnesota from September to December. Space is limited. Seminar fees are nonrefundable except for any overpayment of fees or if the seminar is canceled (Minnesota Statutes 326B.098).

bullet View locations, the complete seminar schedule and register online here.

 


 

bullet Sign up to be notified of future seminars by registering for the CCLD Review newsletter

bullet Register for seminars here.

DLI home page | Directions and maps | News and media | Website disclaimer