Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Orange bar
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry

Feb. 25, 2016

216,000 Minnesota hourly workers make $9 an hour or less

The 2015 Minnesota Minimum-wage Report is now available from the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry. The report presents trends about Minnesota's minimum-wage workers and descriptive statistics about these workers for the current year.

Findings from the report

  • There are about 1.58 million hourly workers in Minnesota (page 7).

  • An estimated 216,000 or 13.6 percent, of these hourly workers make the state minimum wage of $9 an hour or less (page 7).

  • Thirty-four percent of the state's minimum-wage workers work in eating and drinking places; 40 percent of these minimum-wage workers receive overtime, tips or commissions (page 9).

  • Forty-five percent of the state's minimum-wage workers are older than 24 (page 11).

  • Women are more likely than men to be paid the minimum wage (page 11).

  • Fifty-nine percent of minimum-wage workers above age 20 have some college education (page 13).

  • Eleven percent of minimum-wage workers above age 20 do not have a high school diploma (page 13).

  • Eighteen percent of minimum-wage workers are in households at or below the poverty line (page 15).

  • In 2015 dollars, the U.S. minimum wage (currently $7.25) fell 26 percent from 1974 to 2013, while the current Minnesota minimum ($9 as of Aug. 1, 2015) is about two percent more than in 1974 (page 3).

Wage laws

Minnesota's minimum wage was raised to $9 an hour on Aug. 1, 2015, for employers with annual revenues of at least $500,000, and $7.25 an hour for employers with less than $500,000 in annual business.

More information

The report is available online at www.dli.mn.gov/RS/MinWageReport.asp. Copies of the report may also be obtained by calling (651) 284-5025 or 1-800-342-5354.

###

News media contact:
James Honerman
(651) 284-5313

DLI home page | Directions and maps | News and media | Website disclaimer