
 

 
   

      
     

  
     

       
  

     
     

  

        
        

       
       

      

  

     
   
      
      

    
       

   

 

         
      

          
      

  
     

     
        

, DEPARTMENT OF 
LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

[Employers: This is a sample employee notice employers can use to inform their employees about earned sick 
and safe time as required under Minnesota Statutes § 181.9447, subdivision 9. Instructions for completing this 
notice are in brackets. Delete all instructions before providing this to the employee.] 

Earned sick and safe time employee notice 
Employees in Minnesota are entitled to earned sick and safe time, a form of paid leave. Employees must accrue 
at least one hour of earned sick and safe time for every 30 hours they work, up to at least 48 hours in a year. [If 
you are using a more generous accrual system or a front-loading system, edit the previous sentence and insert 
the applicable system for the employee who will receive this notice.] A year for purposes of the employee’s 
earned sick and safe time accrual is: [Note here how you define the accrual or benefit year for the employee. 
Examples include the calendar year, year by work anniversary or another 12-month period.] 

The earned sick and safe time hours the employee has available, as well as those that have been used in the 
most recent pay period, must be indicated on the employee’s earnings statement that they receive at the end of 
each pay period. Earned sick and safe time must be paid at the same hourly rate employees earn from 
employment. Employees are not required to seek or find a replacement for their shift to use earned sick and 
safe time. They may use earned sick and safe time for all or part of a shift, depending on their need. 

Earned sick and safe time can be used for: 

• an employee’s mental or physical illness, treatment or preventive care;  
• the mental or physical illness, treatment or preventive care of an employee’s family member; 
• absence due to domestic abuse, sexual assault or stalking of an employee or their family member; 
• closure of an employee’s workplace due to weather or public emergency or closure of their family 

member’s school or care facility due to weather or public emergency; and 
• when determined by a health authority or health care professional that an employee or their family 

member is at risk of infecting others with a communicable disease. 

Notifying employer, documentation 

An employer can require their employees to provide up to seven days of advance notice when possible (for 
example, when an employee has a medical appointment scheduled in advance) before using sick and safe time. 
An employer can also require their employees to provide certain documentation regarding the reason for their 
use of earned sick and safe time if they use it for more than three consecutive days. 

[The following is an example of an employer policy for employees to provide notice before using earned sick and 
safe time. Edit the following text to match your company’s policy.] If an employee plans to use earned sick and 
safe time for an appointment, preventive care or another permissible reason they know of in advance, inform 
[name or position] by [phone, email or other communication] as far in advance as possible, but at least [number 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2023/0/53/laws.12.1.0#laws.12.1.0


    
         

   

  

          
    

        
        

 

 

     
     

      
   

 

Hmong/Hmoob 

Vietnamese/Vi~t 

ngU" 
Simp. Chinese/fe] 

14:cfl)t 
Russian/pyccK11H 

Somali/Soomaali 

la otia n/W'l::l'>:::l'>O 

Korean/ti-~01 

Tagalog/Tagalog 

Oromo/Oromoo 

Amharic/hO"/cl;I 

Karen/ ro~of.> 

Arabic/ :;._,u~I 

Este documento cont iene informad6n importante sobre su empleo. Marque la casi lla a la 

izquierda par.i recib ir esta informaci6n en este idioma. 
Daim nta11w no muaj cov xov tseem ceeb hais txog thaum koj ua hauj llwm. Khij lub npauv ntawm 

sab laug yog koj xav t au cov xov tseem ceeb no txhais ua lus Hmoob. 

Tai li~u nay chva thong tin quan trgng ve vi~c lam cua quy vi. Danh dau vao o ben t rai de nh~n 

thong tin nay b~ng Vi~t ngv. 
:1'f'e/.%.:j~89}fffliffl~B:JJI~fa,~o '.l,,11n,,.,_{ 'l"f;IJJ ,..,':'~:.. ;..vJJ,J8.1'Jlli ,= fltt,~B:Jfa,~,~ 

AaHHb1i:1,qoKyMeHT co,qep>K11T ea>KHYIO 1t1HcpopMau,11io o eaweM Tpyp,oycrpoikrn.e. OrMeTt>re 

ra11 o~Koi:1 KBa.ApaT c11eea A/IR no11y,.ieHl1R :!TOH l1H!pOpMau.1111 Ha ,D.8HH0M r13b,Ke. 
Dukumentigan waxaa ku q,oran macluumaad muhiim ah oo ku saabsan shaqadaada. Ca laamadi 
sanduuqan haddii aad ,rabto inaad mac.luumaa.dkan ku hesho luqaddan. 

Ka f>" a ■ av • ..... 1,,- ■ 
ce n:;,:;,')UU.UR",!)J U):;,')f)t))")JOnUn'l>J'#')')')'l lJ Re') lO'lU . 

nom:u')JJ6')Vl~C()6'J'!'l~CW6i°U8~)..)oiuw'l::l'l0. 

01 ~J..i01l~ -r-l~f9.I .J1.~ ~Etl<>ll .:et-rt!@g.Q.tf ~-5!7~ g-~2.!sLICI-. 0 1 ~o1£ 0 1 ~.!i!.~ ~71~ 

~~Al~ ~Ci! ,:;t'J;J,OII ~13.~0~ .ijii,AilR. 

Ang dokumentong ito ay nagtataglay ng mahalagang impormasyon tungkol sa iyong 

pagtatrabaho. Lagyan ng tsek ang kahon sa kaliiwa upang matanggap ang impormasyong ito sa 
wikang ito. 
Waraqaan kun waayee hoj ii keetii odeeffannoo barbaachisoo ta'an qabatee j ira. Saaxinnii karaa 

bitaatti argamu kana irratti mallattoo godhi yoo afaan Kanaan barreeffama argachuu barbaadde. 

f.V ,'1.h-ut>'},'f- h+"lmC"> (1C7'l.011c'\hr hll"-t\'Z. ovG~ '?fH ~a,,:: f.UTI ,e.ti-cro1-r nt'l+"lt. C11N\ CU\ar ~ 
#C'r'f" 1'1.\l'lint h~'I- (ltj(lr OM"l't. (11N\ 'lc'\Clr 'l-r1 ar(l,p ?"Ahr .1'~1-,, 

~~ ~ ~ ~1 ~ ~yJI ~ ~ ~ .~ .,p. ~ ul..ofa.,,_)c, ~ I 1Ja r,,iJ,:,,.;. 
. ~ I ~~ ~ 'i',,o _,l...J1 

between one and seven] days in advance. In situations where an employee cannot provide advance notice, the 
employee should contact [name or position] at [phone, email or other communication] as soon as they know 
they will be unable to work. 

Retaliation, right to file complaint 

It is against the law for an employer to retaliate, or to take negative action, against an employee for using or 
requesting earned sick and safe time or otherwise exercising their earned sick and safe time rights under the 
law. If an employee believes they have been retaliated against or improperly denied earned sick and safe time, 
they can file a complaint with the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry. They can also file a civil action 
in court for earned sick and safe time violations. 

For more information 

Contact the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry’s Labor Standards Division at 651-284-5075 or 
esst.dli@state.mn.us or visit the department’s earned sick and safe time webpage at dli.mn.gov/sick-leave. 

This document contains important information about your employment. Check the box at the left to receive 
this information in this language. 

mailto:esst.dli@state.mn.us
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